Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

tire pressure sensor (spare?)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2012, 09:54 AM   #21
Lord of War
KenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
KenLyns's Avatar
Joined: May 2010, #37674
Location: Belly of the Beast
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 16,649
KenLyns's Tacoma Gallery
I think the button simply changes the TPMS ECU warning threshold, in case you change to a different type of tire that requires a different normal operating pressure. There may be a "floor" in the ECU logic that won't set the threshold below, say, 10 psi. I think the sensor always gives an absolute pressure value, because some cars can display the pressure in each tire numerically in the dash, in addition to the caution light.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:55 AM   #22
Lord of War
KenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shedKenLyns is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
KenLyns's Avatar
Joined: May 2010, #37674
Location: Belly of the Beast
Age: 31
Gender: Guy
Posts: 16,649
KenLyns's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
The units can be taken apart and the batteries replaced, but there is the risk of damaging the unit during disassembly.
What's riskier, replacing the battery in a TPMS sensor, or replacing the battery in an iPhone?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:24 PM   #23
Member
FTL911 is on a distinguished road
 
FTL911's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Dec 2010, #47057
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
FTL911's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenLyns View Post
From the owner's manual:

When the light comes on: Low tire inflation pressure.

When the light stays on after blinking for 1 minute: Malfunction in the tire pressure warning system.
Thank you Ken, I didn't see that...Apparently after inflating what I thought was the problem tire; I found that I had over inflated the tire by 10 lbs (but only for an afternoon). My light was actually blinking and then stayed on.
Now after bringing the tire pressure into spec and inflating the spare to the correct pressure. my issues have been resolved.

With the next new tires I will be removing the TPMS from each wheel.
The system is too costly to maintain and too stupid to continue to mess with.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 06:04 PM   #24
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,563
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff7877 View Post
So, I've heard that the TPMS sensors can be reset to read at a lower PSI by holding down a button located under the steering column. My steelie sensors didn't fit my new wheels. Can I reset the with "0" PSI and get rid the light? Just a thought.

Sorry for the side track.
No... they can be set within a certain range, but can't be set below, IIRC, 20 or 25psi.

I have seen it recommended to deflate to 25psi, reset (and I think you need to drive for 15 miles or so), then reinflate to your normal 35-40 (or wherever you run) and you won't have to worry until you get down to 25, or there's a difference of more than 5psi between two tires.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 06:50 PM   #25
Senior Member
geoff7877 has a spectacular aura aboutgeoff7877 has a spectacular aura about
 
geoff7877's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2012, #73482
Location: Petaluma, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 289
geoff7877's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
No... they can be set within a certain range, but can't be set below, IIRC, 20 or 25psi.

I have seen it recommended to deflate to 25psi, reset (and I think you need to drive for 15 miles or so), then reinflate to your normal 35-40 (or wherever you run) and you won't have to worry until you get down to 25, or there's a difference of more than 5psi between two tires.
Thanks for the clarification. Knew it was a long shot but I thought it was at least worth asking.

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:41 AM   #26
Senior Member
RacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shedRacerAV is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Army:
Name: Adamo
Joined: Feb 2011, #52049
Location: Anaheim, CA
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,289
RacerAV's Tacoma Gallery
there are only two types of the TPMS sensors right? the ones for the steel wheels and the ones for alloys? buying a used set, and don't remember the details i looked up a while back...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:07 AM   #27
Old Sheepdog
Primersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shedPrimersinmyshoe is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Primersinmyshoe's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2010, #38855
Location: St. Louis, MO
Gender: Male
Posts: 735
Primersinmyshoe's Tacoma Gallery
I have a 2010 AC SR5 and do not have a TPMS in the spare. I found out when I had a flat. The spare had never hit the ground and only had a couple pounds of air in it. I assumed it did have a TPMS - and you know what that means.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:43 PM   #28
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,563
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
2009 or 2010, the spare TPMS sensor was deleted.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:46 PM   #29
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,563
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by RacerAV View Post
there are only two types of the TPMS sensors right? the ones for the steel wheels and the ones for alloys? buying a used set, and don't remember the details i looked up a while back...
20 degree and 40 degree (I don't remember which is which).

Buying online, there are different frequencies available... I'd stick with RockAuto.com if not buying from a Toyota dealer like Titus-Will or Toyota of Dallas.

You will need to have your ECU programmed to read the new sending units. You can reportedly do this yourself with the $35 Techstream clone, or a decent tire shop should be able to do it for you.
To do it yourself, you'll need the serial numbers from the sensors. The tire shop should be able to read them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:00 AM   #30
Senior Member
edm3rd will become famous soon enoughedm3rd will become famous soon enough
Name: Duke
Joined: Oct 2012, #89550
Location: Memphis TN
Gender: Male
Posts: 220
edm3rd's Tacoma Gallery
TPMS

20 degree on aluminum, 40 degree on steel
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 06:56 PM   #31
Member
StanBo is on a distinguished road
 
StanBo's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Jun 2010, #39451
Location: Central NJ
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
StanBo's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to StanBo
Would you be able to read the current sensor ID tags with the cable?

Also thanks for all of the great info. I was considering going with the Ateq quickset device prior to reading about the Techstream cable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:47 PM   #32
Senior Member
SOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shedSOSHeloPilot is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Marines: Helicopter Pilot - RVN
Joined: Mar 2009, #15422
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,584
SOSHeloPilot's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenLyns View Post
What's riskier, replacing the battery in a TPMS sensor, or replacing the battery in an iPhone?
... ^^^ ... Good question ... replaced a 3GS battery by myself a long time ago ... probably TPMS x 4 is riskier ...

Just need a low wattage (fine tip) soldiering pencil to work on an iPhone battery.
.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:01 PM   #33
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,563
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by StanBo View Post
Would you be able to read the current sensor ID tags with the cable?

Also thanks for all of the great info. I was considering going with the Ateq quickset device prior to reading about the Techstream cable.
No... you can input them into the ECU, but the ECU won't read an unknown.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:39 AM   #34
Member
StanBo is on a distinguished road
 
StanBo's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Jun 2010, #39451
Location: Central NJ
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
StanBo's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to StanBo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
No... you can input them into the ECU, but the ECU won't read an unknown.
Thanks for the heads up. I am considering the PVC mod to keep the sensors happy.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Pressure Sensor stotd Wheels & Tires 20 01-12-2013 09:29 AM
tire pressure sensor, took spare tire off mattmxracer 2nd Gen. Tacomas 9 04-14-2011 06:47 PM
Tire pressure sensor ARMYTACO Wheels & Tires 3 10-16-2009 08:20 PM
WTB: 17" spare wheel w/ pressure sensor eordonez Buy / Sell / Trade 3 08-23-2009 10:17 AM
Tire Pressure Sensor RBaptist Wheels & Tires 0 01-26-2009 04:40 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.