1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

This is BS, Im done with Amsoil!!!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Bones308, Oct 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oct 13, 2011 at 7:41 PM
    Bones308

Bones308 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Casper, WY
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma Double Cab 4x4
    2006 Tacoma Double cab TRD V6 4x4 K&N air filter, Flowmaster exhaust 285/75/16 Tires yes its a 6 SPEED!!!
    Ok just got done with an oil change on my 2nd Gen today and noticed something that really pisssed me off.

-For the record I am a mechanic and see many different types of oils, regular and synthetic, on a daily basis.

I use Amsoil signature series 0w30 and have done so for a long time in my toyota. As I was pouring in my new oil today, I noticed that it looked incredibly darker that it normally does as it was pouring in. Thinking back about a year ago to a previous oil change I remembered that I noticed the same thing. SO I decided to smell it as I always to out of habbit and The shit smelled like freaking CORN OIL!!!! And I remembered about a year ago when this happened before it looked exactly the same and smelled exactly the same, like corn oil. Now this had me troubbled because I always smell my oils and every synthetic I have smelled including Amsoil have smelled very "sweet" smelling. Dino oils do not smell sweet like this at all in fact they smell like this shit does, so I figured something was really wrong.