This is BS, Im done with Amsoil!!!

Closed Thread

Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2011, 07:41 PM   #1
Bones308 will become famous soon enoughBones308 will become famous soon enough

Name: You can call me "V"
Bones308's Tacoma Gallery
This is BS, Im done with Amsoil!!!

Ok just got done with an oil change on my 2nd Gen today and noticed something that really pisssed me off.

-For the record I am a mechanic and see many different types of oils, regular and synthetic, on a daily basis.

I use Amsoil signature series 0w30 and have done so for a long time in my toyota. As I was pouring in my new oil today, I noticed that it looked incredibly darker that it normally does as it was pouring in. Thinking back about a year ago to a previous oil change I remembered that I noticed the same thing. SO I decided to smell it as I always to out of habbit and The shit smelled like freaking CORN OIL!!!! And I remembered about a year ago when this happened before it looked exactly the same and smelled exactly the same, like corn oil. Now this had me troubbled because I always smell my oils and every synthetic I have smelled including Amsoil have smelled very "sweet" smelling. Dino oils do not smell sweet like this at all in fact they smell like this shit does, so I figured something was really wrong.

So I decided to do a test. I found an unopened bottle of Amsoil 0w30 from my previous oil change and decided to test the smell out and compare it with the stuff I just got for my oil change today. You know what? The shit smelled totally and completely different!! yes thats right, The old bottle (unopened) smelled exactly what a synthetic should smell like.....sweet. The new bottle I just got for this oil change smelled like Con oil, no sweet smell...nothing.

So now I am really curious, so I decided to pour each bottle in to two seperate clear cups to compare and see if there were any visual differences.