Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Factory Spare Tire Lock vs Cable Lock

Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2011, 11:24 AM   #1
Mav44 is on a distinguished road

Mav44's Tacoma Gallery
Factory Spare Tire Lock vs Cable Lock

I am new to this and trying to lock everthing down before I do anything else. What is the best way to protect the spare tire, should I pick up the facory lock like this one , or should I get some type of heavy cable and lock?
Old 11-11-2011, 01:48 PM   #2

Mav44's Tacoma Gallery
I just went up under the truck and noticed I have a chain from the factory hanging down through the center of the spare. Can I just padlock this to one of the holes in the rim of the spare and be protected?
Old 11-11-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
The problem with chaining it is getting the spare down when you need it. I will probably buy the lock kit from Toyota for my truck.
Old 11-11-2011, 02:00 PM   #4
The dog did it...I swear!