Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Aftermarket Navigation Options

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2013, 11:02 AM   #61
Junior Member
MidnightTaco is on a distinguished road
Air Force: Flight Engineer
Name: Elliot
Joined: Jan 2013, #96343
Location: Vacaville, California
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
MidnightTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Soo Can you still keep the 6cd changer if you install a new nav system? Whether it be the Caska one or any other?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:08 AM   #62
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,067
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Doubt it since the CD changer is built in to the stock stereo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:52 PM   #63
Senior Member
ottonavigps is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2012, #71458
Location: Ontario, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 263
ottonavigps's Tacoma Gallery
for otto navi radio you will lose the 6 cd feature
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:44 PM   #64
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Caska and Rosen are the same units, just different software.

I've had my Rosen for about a year and I'm replacing it with a Kenwood.

The Kenwood uses the Garmin software and maps, and the iPod interface is pretty decent including album art.
The Rosen maps are okay, but support is zilch, and the units for the Tacoma are no longer listed on their site (likely discontinued). They are still supported, but the support site is difficult to navigate, and then you BUY an update, only to find that you are already current.

But the main reason I'm upgrading is I'm starting to have trouble with the touch screen. Every now and then, it's like an invisible finger is touching the screen, making it impossible to do anything, and often messing up the radio presets.
I'm not totally happy with the iPod interface, the Sirius screen truncates names, only 18 Sirius memories (that may be standard, but I recall my 2006 Pioneer having more), no scrollable listing of Sirius channels, and no direct channel access. If you're on channel 5 and you want 200, if you don't have a channel close to 200 already programmed, you get to scroll manually one channel at a time from 5.

I'm done with these POS non-main-brand units that have nothing but problems and little to no support, or when support means a replacement unit (with you paying shipping) and the replacement fails as well.

Just get a decent name-brand unit like a Kenwood, Alpine, Pioneer, or JVC. There's not THAT big of a difference between the Caska/Rosen/Otto face and a standard double-DIN installed with a Metra kit, and if you have a black dash base model, you can get a Metra kit to match.

I just bought my Kenwood from Crutchfield, it was $950 shipped with the DNX6990HD, iPod cable, and XM receiver.
I spent that much or a bit more on my Rosen package... had to spend $75 on the Sirius cable because Sirius didn't offer one for the Rosen and the included iPod cable wouldn't work with the Sirius receiver.

BTW: The Kenwood unit includes HD Radio... I don't have that on the Rosen. No subscription needed... it's just like digital TV, except the FCC hasn't told the radio stations that they have to kill the analog signal (yet).
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_113DNX6....html?tp=20212


BTW: You can not use a unit with a flip-down screen on the Tacoma dash kit. You need a unit with the CD slot on the perimeter of the screen.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:02 PM   #65
Junior Member
AbominableSnowman is on a distinguished road
Name: Tim
Joined: Feb 2013, #97340
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
AbominableSnowman's Tacoma Gallery
Rich

What is the issue with nav units that flip down to access the CD/DVD slots?

I have my old Eclipse nav unit from 2006 that I was planning to install in my Tacoma. I have everything ready to go but the dash kit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:12 PM   #66
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbominableSnowman View Post
Rich

What is the issue with nav units that flip down to access the CD/DVD slots?

I have my old Eclipse nav unit from 2006 that I was planning to install in my Tacoma. I have everything ready to go but the dash kit.
It's the dash mount.

They sit level in the mount so they are flush at the top of the opening, but recessed at the bottom, so there's no space below the face for the plate to pivot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:16 PM   #67
Junior Member
AbominableSnowman is on a distinguished road
Name: Tim
Joined: Feb 2013, #97340
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
AbominableSnowman's Tacoma Gallery
Okay, thanks for the heads up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:24 AM   #68
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,067
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Nice write up Rich. I've always wanted an honest solid real world comparison between the OEM look units and name brand. I have a pioneer avh p4400 so my mind is already made up. Just good to know.

Also.. I haven't had an issue with either my avh p4300 or p4400 with the flip down screen not working in my truck. Pics are in my build. Those mounting brackets have multiple positions as well as using the stock vs metal brackets will charge the angle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:36 AM   #69
Junior Member
AbominableSnowman is on a distinguished road
Name: Tim
Joined: Feb 2013, #97340
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
AbominableSnowman's Tacoma Gallery
Josh that is good to hear about your Pioneer. I am really hoping I can make my Eclipse work. I had it installed in my Tundra and pulled it out before trading it on my Tacoma. I am really hoping I don't have to pay for a new unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:44 AM   #70
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,067
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
You should be fine honestly. A local member here in Az had an eclipse in his Taco. No issues either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:04 AM   #71
Junior Member
AbominableSnowman is on a distinguished road
Name: Tim
Joined: Feb 2013, #97340
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
AbominableSnowman's Tacoma Gallery
Nice. I suppose I could always modify the opening in the dash kit to make it work if it is a problem. That would be cheaper than a new unit.

I know I am giving up a bunch of features compared to the newer units, but I am used to the Eclipse and O/S interface matches the OEM nav my wife has in her Lexus.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:39 PM   #72
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
I think Crutchfield is being cautious.
If the HU door design ONLY moves forward and doesn't extend below the perimeter of the closed face, then there's no reason that it wouldn't work.

The face on the Toyota OEM unit in my Tundra (it was a Solara unit) could change it's angle for use, but opening the door caused the bottom to extend straight out and the top slid down, so it never violated the space around the unit itself and you could mount it deep into a shoebox and it would work.

I suspect that many units open like this, but I have seen some that operate like they are on a simple hinge, and if the face is 1/2" thick, then they end up extending 1/2" below the frame when open.

There may be other dash kits that will work. The caution is on the Metra, which seems to be a cleaner looking install than the Schosce (sp?)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:33 AM   #73
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,067
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
I think Crutchfield is being cautious.
If the HU door design ONLY moves forward and doesn't extend below the perimeter of the closed face, then there's no reason that it wouldn't work.

The face on the Toyota OEM unit in my Tundra (it was a Solara unit) could change it's angle for use, but opening the door caused the bottom to extend straight out and the top slid down, so it never violated the space around the unit itself and you could mount it deep into a shoebox and it would work.

I suspect that many units open like this, but I have seen some that operate like they are on a simple hinge, and if the face is 1/2" thick, then they end up extending 1/2" below the frame when open.

There may be other dash kits that will work. The caution is on the Metra, which seems to be a cleaner looking install than the Schosce (sp?)
Got ya.

I had the Metra dash kit on my 06... even tho it was textured to match the stock stereo.. it never fit right. Always had issues.

I tried the Scosche kit this time around, and although it isn't textured.. its a much better fit and I would recommend the scosche over the metra.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:27 PM   #74
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Oh ya... something I forgot to mention on my Rosen unit.

You can't turn it off.

Tapping the volume knob only adjusts the screen brightness and can blacken the screen.
But the radio plays any time the vehicle is on.

There is a Mute button, and it works, but the thing self-mutes for BT phone use anyways, and if you use the mute, then shut the truck down, when you restart, the HU comes in at full volume.

So the only way to turn the radio "off" is to simply turn it down.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:28 PM   #75
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moose1988 View Post
Got ya.

I had the Metra dash kit on my 06... even tho it was textured to match the stock stereo.. it never fit right. Always had issues.

I tried the Scosche kit this time around, and although it isn't textured.. its a much better fit and I would recommend the scosche over the metra.
That's odd... the reviews I saw here on TW indicated the opposite, and the pictures of the Metra installations looked nice.

I guess if I get a Metra and don't like it, it's only another $20 to replace it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 04:32 PM   #76
____livevil____
Moose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMoose1988 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Moose1988's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2011, #57449
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 26
Gender: Dude
Posts: 13,067
Moose1988's Tacoma Gallery
Maybe I got a bad Metra... but it was off and looked like crap. Im just goin off what I have dealt with. Post up what yours looks like with whatever you decide on
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:20 PM   #77
Junior Member
Brookerbass is on a distinguished road
 
Brookerbass's Avatar
Name: Eric
Joined: Dec 2012, #93720
Location: coastal NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Brookerbass's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Oh ya... something I forgot to mention on my Rosen unit.

You can't turn it off.

Tapping the volume knob only adjusts the screen brightness and can blacken the screen.
But the radio plays any time the vehicle is on.

There is a Mute button, and it works, but the thing self-mutes for BT phone use anyways, and if you use the mute, then shut the truck down, when you restart, the HU comes in at full volume.

So the only way to turn the radio "off" is to simply turn it down.
Did you try and hold in the left knob to turn it off? That's how mine works
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:09 PM   #78
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookerbass View Post
Did you try and hold in the left knob to turn it off? That's how mine works
Ya... it ended up initiating a system reset. Lost everything except for the Sirius presets (I assume they are stored in the Sirius receiver).
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket In-Dash Navigation magneticgrayTRD Audio & Video 10 02-07-2012 05:06 PM
Aftermarket Interior Options on a 2008 nynightmare 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 03-17-2011 06:51 PM
Any other factory dvd/navigation/bluetooth options? 07SpeedwaySport Audio & Video 4 12-30-2010 10:11 AM
Aftermarket Rear Bumper Options? Lane Cypert 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 07-23-2009 06:09 PM
Is there any aftermarket oil fill cap options? ERdept 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 09-03-2008 11:04 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.