Bakflip F1 26 17.81%
Voters: 146. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-01-2012, 11:16 AM   #1
zham61 is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement:
Name: Dr.
zham61's Tacoma Gallery
Thumbs up !!!NEW!!! Bakflip FIBERMAX Tonneau / Bed Cover

I'm not an expert or anything or even mechanically savvy, but I thought this might help anyone who is deciding on a flip style tonneau cover.

I was shopping around for new tonneau cover and it came down to a Bakflip Fibermax and a Undercover Flex. I couldn't find a Fibermax but I was able to check out the Flex. The opening mechanism on the passenger side is a bit awkward and I don't like how you can't rest the top against the cab of the truck. While both covers are new, the Bakflip Fibermax is the best things from the G2 and the F1, while the Flex is entirely new and built from the ground up and that makes me nervous about potential, unforeseen "bugs."

I decided to get a Fibermax because the price was so good and it's basically an F1 (The really expensive Bakflip cover)! Plus everyone who likes the regular G2 seems to love the G2, and this a hybrid version of the G2 and F1.

I'm so happy with my purchase.

The cover comes packaged really well.

I am not mechanically savvy by any definition as mentioned above, but the install is really cut and dry. Most of you won't benefit from the couple of pointers I'm about to give because you already know what you're doing. For those of us that don't know what to do, the instructions are pretty much worthless, so here is something to consider.

#1 Make sure when you're attaching the bed rails that you put the notch (there are three of them on a DBL Cab Short Bed) between the two washers on the brackets you slide into the rail system (see picture).

#2 Put the seal on the front of the truck bed first (see the Youtube video below, I didn't find this till after I installed it.)