Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Yakima Q Towers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2012, 02:20 AM   #1
Member
justinitsuj is on a distinguished road
Name: Justin
Joined: Jun 2011, #58633
Location: Mills illest
Gender: Male
Posts: 75
justinitsuj's Tacoma Gallery
Yakima Q Towers

has anyone had problems or know of anyone that did have problems regarding the yakima Q tower roof racks flying off their car or truck? any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:38 AM   #2
Senior Member
Enzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to behold
 
Enzo's Avatar
Name: Opie
Joined: Sep 2010, #42815
Location: Bedford, Va
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,371
Enzo's Tacoma Gallery
I've never heard of that happening. Just make sure you install things correctly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
CantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shedCantSitStill is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
CantSitStill's Avatar
Name: FTR
Joined: Feb 2012, #73601
Location: CNY
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,028
CantSitStill's Tacoma Gallery
Never heard anything like this and I have been using Thule and Yakima racks for 20 years. I would imagine if there is failure it is operator error. Don't see how all four mounting points would have catastrophic failure.

Unless you are being literal... In that case, YES, I have seen one rack actually grow wings, but it took the car with it when it flew away!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:50 AM   #4
Member
justinitsuj is on a distinguished road
Name: Justin
Joined: Jun 2011, #58633
Location: Mills illest
Gender: Male
Posts: 75
justinitsuj's Tacoma Gallery
hahahah! Thanks! Just trying to do research and been reading about peoples racks flying off with whatever they are carrying. Currently runnng yakima Q Towers and I've been seeing pics of peoples racks being mounted further back then the installation requires.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:24 AM   #5
Junior Member
MothAndRust is on a distinguished road
Name: Mark
Joined: May 2012, #78673
Location: Austin
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
MothAndRust's Tacoma Gallery
Mine slides all over. I had a yakima on my civic for years. The yakima seemed to work for 2 or three years and suddenly it slid around. Bought new pads, measured and reinstalled, and can't get it to work. Now I think, if I get it to work, will it start sliding when I've got a canoe on the highway going 70? I'm looking for something that locks down with screws or bolts. (Thule had a lousy rack for my civic years ago too.)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yakima q towers SoutheastTaco Buy / Sell / Trade 2 11-07-2010 05:34 PM
Yakima Q Towers for sale 747 Buy / Sell / Trade 3 10-16-2010 06:00 PM
Yakima Towers, crossbars, sks, landing pads djs05tacoma Buy / Sell / Trade 9 04-15-2010 11:12 AM
Yakima Q towers work for 1st gen? Tman12 1st Gen. Tacomas 2 08-21-2009 11:32 AM
YAKIMA towers & Q clips Tacoma kai38` Buy / Sell / Trade 3 03-12-2009 08:00 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.