1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote starter help/advice

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by WillzTaco, May 10, 2012.

1. May 10, 2012 at 7:40 AM
    WillzTaco

WillzTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Off Road Silver
    Hey guys I just bought a Viper 5704 remote starter and alarm system. Anyone have this or have opinions about it? Also, I was going to try and tackle the install myself, but Ive never done a remote start before. I can read wiring diagrams and I'm a computer engineer so i was thinking i could handle it. I looked at all the wire and got discouraged though and called best buy and they want to charge like $300 to install :eek: Im on the fence about the DIY or paying to install. What does everyone think? What should i do? I'd probably make a write up on it considering i didn't find one and i think it'd be very helpful on saving some coin. Thanks for any help/advice

2. May 10, 2012 at 1:09 PM
    jonatay

jonatay Well-Known Member

Member:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    '19 Black DCSB TRD Offroad 4x4
  3. May 10, 2012 at 2:54 PM
    Rellik01

Rellik01 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Craig
    Windermere, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport 4x4 White
    Bull Guard powder coated white, chrome aftermarket tail lights,Led interior lights, Factory roof rack, Bug deflector, Factory tow package, Garmin GPS, Viper 5901 alarm with auto start, Weather tech window wind deflectors, , 3" Tube steps powder coated white, CB Radio, Radio Scanner.