Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Aftermarket bumper on a stock truck?

Old 07-26-2012, 09:14 AM   #1
angdefeo is on a distinguished road
angdefeo's Tacoma Gallery
Aftermarket bumper on a stock truck?

I am new to the world of Taco’s and cannot figure out a few things about front after-market bumpers. Most of the photo’s that I see with trucks running aftermarket bumpers also have lifted and upgraded suspensions. Is a lift and upgraded shocks and springs needed in order to allow for an aftermarket bumper from any of the various brands? Or can they mounted on a stock truck? I assume the extra weight could have an impact on the stock components.
Old 07-26-2012, 09:17 AM   #2
JDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shedJDMcQ is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: John
JDMcQ's Tacoma Gallery
THe bumpers can be mounted on a stock suspended truck. As you stated, the extra weight would cause the front suspension to droop slightly, most add heavier springs to compensate.
Old 07-26-2012, 09:18 AM   #3
Enzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to beholdEnzo is a splendid one to behold

Name: Opie
Enzo's Tacoma Gallery