Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

2013 Touch screen Bluetooth Phonebook while driving

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2012, 09:26 PM   #22
Junior Member
BuildDesign is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2012, #91910
Location: Valley of the sun
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
BuildDesign's Tacoma Gallery
Siri handles it all for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:49 PM   #23
mtnwrks [OP] mtnwrks is offline
Junior Member
mtnwrks is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2012, #89571
Location: BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
mtnwrks's Tacoma Gallery
The main point of this thread is that caller ID does not access the phonebook while the truck is moving. There has to be a signal coming into the head unit disabling phonebook while the truck is moving. Is there a way to stop this from happening?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:46 AM   #24
Senior Member
CtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
CtTaco's Avatar
Name: Eric
Joined: May 2008, #6392
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Posts: 628
CtTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Another option would be to possibly find the speed sense wire and cut it to see if the truck is locking you out based on the sat gps signal or the vehicle speed sense wire. If it is based on the wire, you could break it with a relay and a switch. If it is gps signal based the same method might work but I'm not sure how the Nav would react...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:47 AM   #25
mtnwrks [OP] mtnwrks is offline
Junior Member
mtnwrks is on a distinguished road
Name: Mike
Joined: Oct 2012, #89571
Location: BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
mtnwrks's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CtTaco View Post
Another option would be to possibly find the speed sense wire and cut it to see if the truck is locking you out based on the sat gps signal or the vehicle speed sense wire. If it is based on the wire, you could break it with a relay and a switch. If it is gps signal based the same method might work but I'm not sure how the Nav would react...

No Nav on this unit.

I think it is a signal through a wire, but what other functionality needs that wire? if I could figure out which wire it is.

I really wish there was a hidden menu for this
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #26
TeamBlue
alegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shedalegav is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
alegav's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Jun 2012, #81219
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,057
alegav's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to alegav Send a message via Yahoo to alegav
This is not a new thing people haha. I called a few of my local dealers and they said that they wouldn't mess with "big brother" feature for the nav units. It also does this when you're driving and trying to type in an address, you cant. You can only pick from your saved destinations. There are plenty of other stock navigation units that have this same feature. I have been looking for a hidden menu also and haven't been able to find any information on it. Damn first world problems
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:47 PM   #27
Free Man
Hurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shedHurtin Albertan is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Hurtin Albertan's Avatar
Name: Duck
Joined: Apr 2012, #77519
Location: on the road less traveled
Gender: Male
Posts: 230
Hurtin Albertan's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnwrks View Post
The main point of this thread is that caller ID does not access the phonebook while the truck is moving. There has to be a signal coming into the head unit disabling phonebook while the truck is moving. Is there a way to stop this from happening?
I have a 2013 TRD sport with the touchscreen audio system. When my phone is plugged into the truck USB, the caller ID won't work with the truck moving. When I plug my phone into one of the 12V cigarette lighter sockets though, caller ID all the time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:43 AM   #29
Senior Member
CtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
CtTaco's Avatar
Name: Eric
Joined: May 2008, #6392
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Posts: 628
CtTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnwrks View Post
No Nav on this unit.

I think it is a signal through a wire, but what other functionality needs that wire? if I could figure out which wire it is.

I really wish there was a hidden menu for this
If you don't have nav, then it is most likely a speed sense wire which can be broken with the relay and switch method. The only two things I can think of in a non-Nav vehicle using that wire would be the cutting off of your phone book features and an automatic speed adjusted volume control ( faster you go, the louder the volume adjustment) the trick is finding the correct wire

As far as I know, toyota has been using the same wiring connector in their radios since 1987 so it probably shouldn't be that hard to figure out which one it is. I will check what wiring info I can find and let you guys know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:18 AM   #31
Senior Member
Raoul Duke is on a distinguished road
 
Raoul Duke's Avatar
Name: CJ
Joined: Nov 2012, #91623
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 161
Raoul Duke's Tacoma Gallery
Look for a PURPLE/WHITE wire

this may be it
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:45 AM   #32
Senior Member
kai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
kai38`'s Avatar
Joined: Dec 2007, #3778
Posts: 470
kai38`'s Tacoma Gallery
On my 2013 the phone book doesn't work while moving like people described but the speed dial does, There are 18 slots for speed dial numbers you can add names and be able to call while driving.

Problem I have with mine is if I don't answer on the first ring at the radio unit I have to pick up my cell phone to answer then transfer to hands free.
Its a PIA anyone else have that problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:57 AM   #34
Senior Member
kai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shedkai38` is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
kai38`'s Avatar
Joined: Dec 2007, #3778
Posts: 470
kai38`'s Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubenc87 View Post
Could it be the settings within your ph?
I don't think so, the cell will ring 4-5 times before going to voice mail.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:43 PM   #35
Junior Member
yakker117 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2008, #4944
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
yakker117's Tacoma Gallery
TTT
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 02:44 PM   #36
Junior Member
enos33 will become famous soon enough
 
enos33's Avatar
Navy: NATIONAL SERVICE, ENGLAND
Name: Ron
Joined: Jun 2013, #106443
Location: VALLEY CENTER, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
enos33's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by batchelor22 View Post
Hi, I also have a new Tacoma here in BC. I have not noticed what you noted in my truck and numbers that are stored in my phone book do appear on screen with name and number when a call is incoming. Do you have the Nav. Entune system? Mine is a TRD Sport.
I took off the TURD on the side of my new Tacoma. Disgusting word for a truck.
I cannot, neither can the dealer, enter my contacts in the radio. I can only add the speed dial nos. These do not allow the name to be shown. I had to memorize the 6 nos. and remember the associated names. Pissed me off no end, because my 2009 allowed voice entering of contacts. The 2013 does not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 02:46 PM   #37
Junior Member
enos33 will become famous soon enough
 
enos33's Avatar
Navy: NATIONAL SERVICE, ENGLAND
Name: Ron
Joined: Jun 2013, #106443
Location: VALLEY CENTER, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
enos33's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubenc87 View Post
The voice activation feature still works. Not all of the ph feature work.
I repeat - sorry, but someone out there may now the secret.

I took off the TURD on the side of my new Tacoma. Disgusting word for a truck.
I cannot, neither can the dealer, enter my contacts in the radio. I can only add the speed dial nos. These do not allow the name to be shown. I had to memorize the 6 nos. and remember the associated names. Pissed me off no end, because my 2009 allowed voice entering of contacts. The 2013 does not.

I do NOT have the Nav. Entune system.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 03:42 PM   #38
Cobra
rubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant futurerubenc87 has a brilliant future
 
rubenc87's Avatar
Army: 2nd Armored Div.
Joined: Feb 2009, #13214
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,359
rubenc87's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to rubenc87
Quote:
Originally Posted by kai38` View Post
On my 2013 the phone book doesn't work while moving like people described but the speed dial does, There are 18 slots for speed dial numbers you can add names and be able to call while driving.

Problem I have with mine is if I don't answer on the first ring at the radio unit I have to pick up my cell phone to answer then transfer to hands free.
Its a PIA anyone else have that problem?
Do you always answer with the steering wheel controls or with the screen?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:44 AM   #39
Junior Member
enos33 will become famous soon enough
 
enos33's Avatar
Navy: NATIONAL SERVICE, ENGLAND
Name: Ron
Joined: Jun 2013, #106443
Location: VALLEY CENTER, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
enos33's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubenc87 View Post
I was trying to open the email , pics and such. No luck. The guy at the dealership said that it has limits with the iPhone because of apple security. You might have better luck with the android as far as opening the other menus.
BS!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 LCD Screen? Vantage 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 08-29-2012 06:05 PM
Syncing Iphone4s phonebook with Bluetooth mtnbiker310 Audio & Video 5 06-18-2012 03:37 PM
Cleaning touch screen? Fractured Audio & Video 5 01-28-2012 05:18 PM
Bluetooth Phonebook Capacity way too small ? limeyx Audio & Video 5 08-13-2010 01:57 PM
touch screen info. tonkayota Audio & Video 3 10-23-2008 09:13 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.