Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Winter Driving - When to use 4X4?

Old 12-29-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
AFZ is on a distinguished road
AFZ's Tacoma Gallery
Winter Driving - When to use 4X4?

I'll be honest, I'm still new to 4X4s, so I just want to make sure I don't blow up my transfer case.

Two schools of thought I'm being told are -

If the rear wheels will spin, put in in 4-High.

and the polar opposite -

Never use 4X4 on the road, it's to get your out of the ditch you just slid into.

Roads today are super slick - a blip of the throttle will send the rear swinging out and everyone is spinning at stop signs.

Old 12-29-2012, 02:59 PM   #3
Backdoor Commentator
DoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shedDoorDing is one of the sharper tools in the shed

DoorDing's Tacoma Gallery
4x4 Snow Question

Confused about Traction Control Systems

DAC does nothing

ABS sucks in snow

That ought to do it.
FWIW, if I was driving in conditions like the OP's opening photo, I'd be in 4H. With my wipers on.
Old 12-29-2012, 03:27 PM   #4
AFZ is on a distinguished road
AFZ's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoorDing View Post
4x4 Snow Question

Confused about Traction Control Systems

DAC does nothing

ABS sucks in snow

That ought to do it.
FWIW, if I was driving in conditions like the OP's opening photo, I'd be in 4H. With my wipers on.
They are on... just low speed. Thanks!
Old 12-29-2012, 03:29 PM   #5