Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Looking to purchase

Old 12-29-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
DrJones is on a distinguished road
DrJones's Tacoma Gallery
Looking to purchase

Hey guys,

Been reading forums for a while as a 4Runner owner but I think it's time to move to a pick up. I'm a Carpenter and use my 4Runner to move my tools around (about 500 lbs on avg) and sometimes materials as well. It's a 99 SR5 V6 and I'm just eating the interior with all my stuff being taken in and out each day.
I'm looking at an 09 SR5 V6 Tacoma crew cab 6spd with 93k (maybe 50k miles for our American friends). Is there anything I need to specifically watch out for?
I know rust is the total killer, my 4Runner has been under the torch longer than creme brule. I've snapped more bolts than I know what to do with.
Thanks to all in advance for your help.
Old 12-30-2012, 08:04 AM   #3
Badgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shedBadgtho is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Ben
Badgtho's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Traveler View Post
Only advice I can offer is to take that 6 speed on a longggg test drive through each gear, up and down. I know people have had problems with the manual trans on these trucks.
You own an auto I assume??
Old 12-30-2012, 08:10 AM   #4
rawdog has a spectacular aura aboutrawdog has a spectacular aura about

Name: Steve
rawdog's Tacoma Gallery
Quote: