Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Ticking/Winding Noise from Rear End

Old 01-01-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
Andy040715 is on a distinguished road
Name: Andrew
Andy040715's Tacoma Gallery
Ticking/Winding Noise from Rear End

Hey all, my 06 tacoma v6 trd auto 121k is making a strange noise lately. When I am driving 25-50 mph and I just feather the gas, a winding/whirling sound is coming from the rear end of my truck. It just started doing this when ive been going from 2x4 to 4x4 with the weather we are getting here in Maine. When I bought it 1000 miles ago, the toyota dealership said they replaced the barrings in the rear end. I am a total noob and have limited skills in repairs/recognizing issues. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 01-01-2013, 06:16 PM   #2
Vstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shedVstrom30 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Vstrom30's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like it could possibly be a pinion bearing from your description. A pinion bearing failure can make noise under load but quiet down or disappear when letting off the accelerator.
Old 01-01-2013, 07:18 PM   #3