1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Weird noise under the hood...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Baitman, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Jan 15, 2013 at 6:03 PM
    Baitman

Baitman [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Les
    Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2007 Taco Quad Cab
    Crave 2 wheels and new tires- Clarion remote start and car alarm, and soon to be a leveling kit...
    Hello!

Im new in the Taco world. I traded in my 2007 JK for a 2007 Tacoma last week and loving it. After i have calmed down a bit I have started to notice a weird noise under the hood. I have bumper to bumper warranty, but want to diagnose it with your help first...

It only happens when im driving in the city 30-40 mph and only when I am maintaining the same speed. It sounds like a air/soft flapping sound near the intake area... My first though was the air intake, but it goes away when i apply more gas or take my foot off the gas, It only makes sounds when driving... Not sure if this is enough info, but good luck helping me...

off question-

I ordered a leveling kit from hell bent steel (good price and good reviews).
    The truck does not look bad already and actually looks level, but I cant stand tire rubbing on my fenders (tires and wheels were already installed when I bought it)!!! Is a 2.5" kit going to be over kill or will it barely be noticeable?

Thanks Guys for reading and I am looking forward to your comments!

Les

2. Jan 15, 2013 at 6:07 PM
    Texoma

Texoma IG: Triple C Chop Shop

Member:
    First Name:
    Chris(Topher)
    Lago Vista, TX
    Vehicle:
    10 Taco 4x4