Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

1st time Tacoma Owner...but problems with MPG!

Old 02-28-2013, 05:12 PM   #1
The Riddler is on a distinguished road

The Riddler's Tacoma Gallery
1st time Tacoma Owner...but problems with MPG!

Newbie here. Thanks for all the information here on the forums. I finally sold and traded in my 2003 rusted f150 and a 1999 subaru outback and put the funds towards a new 2013 blue taco i4 4x4 access cab during the Presidents Day sale here in Massachusetts. Everyone drives Taco's out here so I figured I would give one a shot. Pleasure to work with the sales people from Toyota. They pulled no crap and gave me fair value for the f150 trade in that was in poor shape.

I put on the K and N filter and bought a truck cap. I have 500 miles on the truck but I'm getting killed on gas. I'm wondering if it's the cap I put on? Also winter Gas term was new to me and I found great info here on it. But I'm getting only 14.66 to 15.23 miles per gallon out of a 4cyl auto. I don't know what's supposed to be normal. Is it a break in period that sucks up the gas or is the winter blend? I read up on removing the charcoal filter and I'm ready to do it if it will help. I will add that 90% of driving is in the city of boston with about 20 miles a day on the mass pike cruising at 65 heading to work. Should I bring the truck back for some sort adjustment?

Any help or insight would be appreciated.
Old 02-28-2013, 05:23 PM   #2
Slow as shit. Cute as Hell.