1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HELP! Tacoma won't move in drive or reverse!

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Ebolamonkey, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Jul 1, 2013 at 12:11 PM
    Ebolamonkey

Ebolamonkey [OP] Active Member

Member:
    I have a 09 Tacoma 4.0 V6. I love my truck and I am dealing with a slight nightmare right now. Mostly because I bought a discount groupon oil change because it was a few blocks from where I lived. I'm no auto mechanic, but usually i change my own oil.

At the time, it seemed like a good idea. Anyway, so I get my oil change. Drive it quickly back home. Leave for two months on business travel. When I got back, i made a trip to the supermarket. I noticed my truck was hesitant to move. The engine would spin up, and then it would go. I quickly parked. and examined what was going on.

This is where my nightmare began. I was missing my oil fill cap and there was a lot of oil dripping from the filter. I was also missing the screws for my engine cover and my battery bracket was super super loose. I realized my engine oil must be low now.

My oil dipstick is useless, so i decided drain/readd oil. I drained the oil, added 5 quarts of mobil 1, and tightened the oil filter (it was really loose).

The problem now is when I shift to reverse or drive, it doesn't go anywhere??!? I can rev the engine and i feel noooothing. I called the shop that did my oil change All Tune Lube in mountain view and they are now out of business.

SOMEONE HELP :( Any ideas? I am scheduled to get my truck towed tomorrow. All to save ... $10 on an oil change? I've certainly learned my lesson.