1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Advice on impending out of state Tacoma purchase

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Karpaasi, Jul 24, 2013.

1. Jul 24, 2013 at 11:34 AM
    Karpaasi

Karpaasi [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rob
    The Old North State
    Vehicle:
    '07 AC 4 cyl. 4x4
    Tacoma newbie here. I'm about to take the plunge on a used Tacoma located in WV. I'm in NC. The transaction won't take place for another week of so, and I'd love some advice 'as' I pull the trigger.

Vehicle is an '07 access cab, SR5, 4x4, 4 cyl., 5-speed. One owner, 56k on the clock. No reported issues or wrecks. Truck seems to be in great shape.

My intuition tells me that the owner is an honest guy. We've talked on the phone and he's quick to answer text messages. I'm a little gun shy due to a recent experience with a local seller. His truck wasn't nearly as clean as expected. Or maybe my expectations are too high.

To my knowledge, rust isn't a huge issue with cars in central NC. How concerned should I be about rust on a vehicle from WV? Some rust is inevitable, right? Should I pay to have a Carfax pulled? Pre-purchase inspection? Anything in particular I should look for?

Does anyone know if WV still issues temporary transit tags, and if so, if they're issued by the DMV or State Police?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Looking forward to my first Tacoma!

2. Jul 24, 2013 at 11:37 AM
    chadderkdawg

chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

Member:
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150