1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Axle clunk

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 1sttoywv, Aug 22, 2013.

1. Aug 22, 2013 at 5:07 PM
    1sttoywv

1sttoywv [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    morgantown wv
    Vehicle:
    13' TRD Offroad (Pyrite Mica)
    Sorry if this the wrong section.

I'm new to toyota's as I bought my 1st Tacoma Saturday. 2012 DCSB TRD sport 6 speed M with 13,000 miles. When shifting there's a clunk in the axle during shifts. Is this normal for toyota's?

2. Aug 22, 2013 at 5:36 PM
    bldegle2

bldegle2 OldPhart

Member:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prerunner TRD AccessCab
    New Navigation DVD/CD/TV/AV/Bluetooth Stereo and seat mod spacers, 1" hubcentric spacers, seat heaters....
    Type in axle clunk in the search box, you will be busy for awhile reading.. could be a number of things..

how many miles on truck and was it treated kindly before you got it?

3. Aug 24, 2013 at 8:30 AM
    bldegle2

bldegle2 OldPhart

Member:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prerunner TRD AccessCab
    New Navigation DVD/CD/TV/AV/Bluetooth Stereo and seat mod spacers, 1" hubcentric spacers, seat heaters....
    I saw your other posts regarding the spongy suspension, sounds like this Taco was rode real hard, despite the fairly low miles..

The clunk could be as simple as slight axle wrap, or it could be something that will need immediate attention, center support bearing, universal joints, front axles, among other things....

If you can't identify it yourself, maybe a TW member close by you can help, I am in SouthWest Virginia, some distance away...