1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Guide to Practical Use of Off Road Model Features

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by zk6760, Oct 31, 2013.

1. Oct 31, 2013 at 9:56 AM
    zk6760

zk6760 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    SLC, UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Off Road
    Just got it!
    Hi TW

I'm rather new to the truck scene and even newer to the forums. I've come from a long line of car ownership, my last being a Subaru WRX. A few months ago I picked up a 2010 O/R DC in White - LOVE IT.

I've read the entire owners manual and while I understand what all of the O/R features do technically and what are intended for, I'm somewhat at a loss of their practical use.

I tried searching and really haven't found a comprehensive thread on this, so can the knowledge and experience masters shed some light on WHAT scenarios the following features should be used and WHY? This all came up when I saw some users talking about using X for "rolling back and forth when stuck in mud" and Y for "snow conditions, this and that". I'm looking more for real world examples versus the generic descriptions found in the owners manual.

1. ATrac
    2. Rear Diff Lock
    3. DH Assist
    4. 4 Low

Thanks!

2. Oct 31, 2013 at 10:00 AM
    zk6760

Member:
    SLC, UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Off Road
    Just got it!
  3. Oct 31, 2013 at 10:06 AM
    zk6760

Member:
    SLC, UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Off Road
    Just got it!
    Any idea on what the ideal and max speed for 4H and 4L is?

4. Oct 31, 2013 at 10:11 AM
    Pearcem87

Pearcem87 Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Off Road