1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Toyota ATF or RP

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by MagnumTaco, Dec 20, 2013.

?

Toyota ATF vs Royal Purple

Poll closed Jan 19, 2014.
  1. Toyota ATF

24 vote(s)
    92.3%
  2. RP

2 vote(s)
    7.7%
  1. Dec 20, 2013 at 9:11 AM
    MagnumTaco

MagnumTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tony
    New Mexico
    Supercharger, Baja Suspension, TRD exhuast, Stealth pulley.
    This is my first time to put a poll into a post, hope I don't mess it up. My question is about Toyota ATF or Royal Purple. My concern is, I hear people say that Toyota transmissions can be picky. I am a big fan of RP and run it in the engine, transfer case, and axles. Am I good with putting RP in the transmission?

2. Dec 20, 2013 at 2:38 PM
    MikeyMcFly

MikeyMcFly This is heavy, Doc.

Member:
    I'm a Masshole
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 6MT / 1999 Corvette 6MT
    Building a Broja
    Personally for transmissions I wouldn't run anything other than OEM fluid. My Mom's old Pathfinder was like a new truck with the OEM fluid.

3. Dec 20, 2013 at 4:14 PM
    Maticuno

Maticuno Resident Pine Swine

Member:
    California High Deserts
    Vehicle:
    2011 Suburban 2500
    JBA Shorty Headers, Flowmaster FlowFX Sing/Dual Exhaust
    I don't know if Royal Purple has an ATF that meets the Toyota WS specification, but I know Amsoil does. It's what I run in mine.

https://www.amsoil.com/shop/by-prod...c-automatic-transmission-fluid/?code=ATLQT-EA

EDIT:

This is straight from Royal Purple's website:
    PLEASE NOTE: