1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Chattering noise fron engine compartment 2014 tacoma

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Traker, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Jan 26, 2014 at 1:56 PM
    Traker

Traker [OP] Member

Member:
    massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    14 tacoma TRD
    Hell guys, this is my first time on one of these forums. I just purchased a 2014 tacoma TRD sport and i noticed a faint metallic chattering noise that only happens when accelerating, most noticeable when lightly accelerating over 40 MPH, i took it back to the dealer and two of the mechanics tell me that they hear it, but there is not much they can do until it gets worse, i am told it is to difficult to locate because it only happens when the vehicle is moving, i have since taken 3 more of these vehicles on test drive and none of them make this noise. PLEASE can anyone help me?

Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  2. Jan 26, 2014 at 2:13 PM
    nextfriday

nextfriday Well-Known Member

Member:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Vehicle:
    13 SR5 Double Cab
    5100s@2.5", 2" aal Leer 100 XR w/ Yakima rails and towers 18x9 Pro Comp Rockwells Cooper Discoverer AT3 275 65 18
    I've read some of these motors have a lot of valve noise...... You may have either have badly adjusted valves from the factory, mis machined cams, or a bad timing chain tensioner causing some chain slap. Those could cause noises your describing? KEEP ON IT!
    My honda crv has had a gurgle coming from the motor from day one and the culprit was a bad exhaust header gasket. It was diagnosed after my warranty ran out. At 120k miles its still there.

3. Jan 26, 2014 at 6:02 PM