Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Check engine light P0101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2014, 12:24 PM   #1
DOUBLE D [OP] DOUBLE D is online now
Senior Member
DOUBLE D is on a distinguished road
 
DOUBLE D's Avatar
Air Force: Veteran
Name: Daniel
Joined: May 2011, #56446
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 132
DOUBLE D's Tacoma Gallery
Check engine light P0101

So maybe 2 weeks ago I got my oil changed and I cleaned/oiled my second gen trd cai filter. and then driving home last night my check engine light comes on, take it to auto zone this morning to get a print out and get the P0101 code. Not sure what this could be..maybe I over oiled or not enough on the filter? Any input or suggestions would be helpful..Thanks

  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:26 PM   #2
SoCal Tacomas
Jerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Jerez's Avatar
Name: Roderick
Joined: Feb 2010, #30488
Location: Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,707
Jerez's Tacoma Gallery
The oil is probably on the mass airflow sensor on the intake. Gotta clean it
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:29 PM   #3
DOUBLE D [OP] DOUBLE D is online now
Senior Member
DOUBLE D is on a distinguished road
 
DOUBLE D's Avatar
Air Force: Veteran
Name: Daniel
Joined: May 2011, #56446
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 132
DOUBLE D's Tacoma Gallery
That's what I figured..I was gonna take it apart again on my day off but I wasn't sure if driving around would mess it up more..and I was looking at getting the pro dry s filter so I don't have to mess with oil anymore, but all I can find is the old coned shaped ones?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 02:23 PM   #4
SoCal Tacomas
Jerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Jerez's Avatar
Name: Roderick
Joined: Feb 2010, #30488
Location: Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,707
Jerez's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by DOUBLE D View Post
That's what I figured..I was gonna take it apart again on my day off but I wasn't sure if driving around would mess it up more..and I was looking at getting the pro dry s filter so I don't have to mess with oil anymore, but all I can find is the old coned shaped ones?
Hmmm I haven't looked for a dry filter for that intake in a while...I couldn't tell you.
But you should be ok till the day you have some time. Just don't let it be too long
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 05:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
Jrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of lightJrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of lightJrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of lightJrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of lightJrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of lightJrahn0822 is a glorious beacon of light
 
Jrahn0822's Avatar
Name: Jake
Joined: Apr 2013, #101306
Location: Northwest Iowa
Gender: Male
Posts: 324
Jrahn0822's Tacoma Gallery
Idk if it will fit but you can buy a Volant dry filter for the FJ and it fits in the Volant air box for the Tacoma. Guessing the trd cai and Volant box are practically the same in dimensions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 05:26 PM   #6
DOUBLE D [OP] DOUBLE D is online now
Senior Member
DOUBLE D is on a distinguished road
 
DOUBLE D's Avatar
Air Force: Veteran
Name: Daniel
Joined: May 2011, #56446
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 132
DOUBLE D's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrahn0822 View Post
Idk if it will fit but you can buy a Volant dry filter for the FJ and it fits in the Volant air box for the Tacoma. Guessing the trd cai and Volant box are practically the same in dimensions.
ill check that out, thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 12:07 PM   #7
DOUBLE D [OP] DOUBLE D is online now
Senior Member
DOUBLE D is on a distinguished road
 
DOUBLE D's Avatar
Air Force: Veteran
Name: Daniel
Joined: May 2011, #56446
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 132
DOUBLE D's Tacoma Gallery
So when I was driving home from work, i was pulling out of our parking going like 10 mph and the speedometer was saying I was going 25. Then once I pulled onto the freeway, felt like i was going 60-65 but the speedometer said I was doing 85. This morning I took out the MAF sensor, which was loose btw, and cleaned it with the CRC Maf cleaner. Drove 15 miles to work and so far so good..hopefully that fixed it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 2004 Taco has a 1995-1999 engine. Check engine light is on because of new motor.. SarkT Technical Chat 12 11-03-2013 10:53 AM
check engine code P0101 YumaTRD 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 04-17-2013 12:48 PM
1995 tacoma Check engine Light. How to check engine codes? bwall 1st Gen. Tacomas 15 07-05-2012 07:41 AM
Check engine light off after check codes CUtacomaTIGER Technical Chat 3 02-03-2012 04:07 PM
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, NEED SMOG CHECK GUEVO3911 1st Gen. Tacomas 20 01-05-2012 12:47 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.