1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Snow/Singletrack Chasing Camping Platform Rig

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by harrydunn, Nov 8, 2014.

1. Nov 8, 2014 at 7:39 PM
    harrydunn

harrydunn [OP] New Member

Member:
    Proud new owner of a Tacoma; wanted to contribute to the forum that gave me all the inspiration and tips to begin building out the rig I've been dreaming up for 10+ years. Please provide any recommendations and concerns with current build. 2014 off road, with access cab.

Storage and Sleeping Platform Build:

IMG_0715.jpg

Started with bike rack mod so I could transport bike inside cab-high cap to keep bike protected during mountain to desert trips, avoid bug goo, and better fuel economy. Used bed drains holes and modified bed rail with a Rocky Mounts thru axle bed rail mount. Used galvanized nuts, bolts, lock washers to secure bed rail to bottom of bed. I worry about water and ice wedging during winter affecting/cracking composite bed and rail. Maybe may loosen bolts. Any suggestions?

IMG_0693.jpg

IMG_0692.jpg

Wanted to build bomber wheel-well bench storage compartments that would support center bed platform. Goal was versatility to transport skis, bike, and dog and allow for cooking, sleeping, and all around car camping during a single trip. After researching this forum and friends with similar builds here is what I ended up doing:

Center sleeping platform can store on bed floor if transporting bike or be left behind if planning to sleep on bed floor between benches or not overnighting, enough room for dog and bike either way:
    IMG_0713.jpg
    IMG_0714.jpg