Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Rev-matching

Old 01-11-2015, 10:47 PM   #1
Ninjalicious1985 is on a distinguished road

Ninjalicious1985's Tacoma Gallery
Rev-matching

Hello everyone,

I am still a relatively new driver (3 years) and I am currently driving a 2012 Tacoma 2.7L 5 speed access cab.

I have been driving stick shifts from the beginning. But I have never been able to shift consistently smooth. Whenever I downshift, the truck lurches forward and it has never seemed right to me. Even though I took some lessons, downshifting without adding some gas just feels like it is bad for the truck.

A few days ago, I started doing what I think some of you call a single clutch rev match. I have only been doing it in situations where I need to downshift and then accelerate. Here is how I have been doing it:

1) While moving, I push the clutch in.
2) Select the next lower gear.
3) While still having the clutch to the floor, I gently and slowly push the gas until the engine is at least 500 rpm higher.
4) Then I slowly release the clutch.

Ever since I have started doing this, the ride has felt so much smoother than before. However, I am worried that I may be unintentionally damaging the clutch assembly doing this.

Does rev matching have to be done super fast, or will I be fine with the way I have been doing it?

Thanks!
Old 01-11-2015, 10:58 PM   #2
Plenty of slaves for my robot colony?
moondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shed