1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help me diagnose this faint howling noise

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by sixstring, Feb 11, 2015.

1. Feb 11, 2015 at 11:16 AM
    sixstring

sixstring [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 4x4 DCab TRD Sport
    Hi all,

I'm still relatively new to my 2nd hand Tacoma so I'm still finding things that seem odd.

I was driving with the music off the other night and noticed a faint howl that seem to come from the rear passenger side of the vehicle. At first I thought someone had left the window cracked or something but that wasn't the case.

I never noticed this on any of my test drives nor have I noticed it in previous weeks with the radio off... so this is probably something that's just starting out. Here's some observations I've made so far:
    • It consistently comes on around 50km/h (~30 mph) and doesn't appear to go away until I drop below that speed. At higher speeds if its still there, it gets drowned out by the sound of wind and tire roar.
    • The noise doesn't get louder or change pitch as I go faster
    • The noise doesn't get louder or change pitch with engine revs
    • The noise isn't affected by braking
    • The noise is apparent regardless of whether I'm accelerating decelerating
    • My entire cabin is kinda vibey beyond 110km/h (~70mph)
    The previous owner had to replace the passenger side leaf spring because it snapped on him going down the road. It is a brand new unit.