Delta00's 2002 Tacoma 4WD

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

No-cut ABS kill switch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2015, 03:43 PM   #1
MAUL747 [OP] MAUL747 is offline
Member
MAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant future
 
MAUL747's Avatar
Name: Michael
Joined: Aug 2014, #136963
Location: Hartsville, SC
Gender: Dude
Posts: 59
MAUL747's Tacoma Gallery
Talking No-cut ABS kill switch

I wanted to do the abs kill switch mod to my truck for on the fly control of the traction babysitters, which this truck is loaded with, but like many others I didn't want to cut the factory harness. I plan on trading my tacoma in for a new gen in a few years so I wanted to avoid cutting the harness and the fear of messin up a brand new $30k truck so I came up with this idea.

Http://[url[/url]=http://www.tacomaworld.com/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/455007/cat/500]
I pretty much just put a switch between the fuse socket and fuse for the abs. I used a short piece of wire with a female connector on one end and a male in the other to connect into the fuse socket on one side and to one terminal on the fuse. Then I ran another longer wire from the second post in the fuse socket thru the fire wall and to a switch then back out to the second post in the fuse which completed the circuit. When the switch is turned on anyways.
http://[url=http://www.tacomaworld.com/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/455006/cat/500][/url]
The only down fall of this way is that you have to cycle the key for the dash lights to go off after you turn the abs off and back on. I haven't tested if the abs is functional after turning it off and back on without cycling the key In theory it should work. the lights stay on because the ECU hasnt ran a check to see that the abs is back on(or at least I think that's why they stay on). If I'm right or not I haven't had a chance to try it yet and I have been wrong a time or two, according to my wife anyways.

Now I know I'm horrible at explaining the process of how I did something so if my directions take you in circles let me know and I'll try to explain better.

EDIT: your abs will not reset and become active again until you cycle the key
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 08:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
nd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Oct 2013, #114055
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,683
nd4spdbh's Tacoma Gallery
thats a BIG fuse.... 50Amp i think... NO WAY those wires you are using are rated for that, let alone the switch.

If you are going to do it this way, DO IT PROPER, with proper awg wires and a relay.

But really... do it the "proper" way

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/tec...ml#post6254094

or below if you have a TRD OR

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...-way-pics.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:07 AM   #3
Senior Member
85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future85GT 79FJ40 has a brilliant future
Name: Ken
Joined: Dec 2010, #47768
Location: New Hampshire
Gender: Male
Posts: 886
85GT 79FJ40's Tacoma Gallery
This is exactly how mine is on my current truck and on my last one. Except I used a Toyota rocker/fog light switch. I've put about 70k miles on this setup with zero issues.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:28 AM   #4
Plenty of slaves for my robot colony?
moondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
moondeath's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Jan 2011, #48948
Location: Pa, Carlisle
Age: 34
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,389
moondeath's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh View Post
thats a BIG fuse.... 50Amp i think... NO WAY those wires you are using are rated for that, let alone the switch.

If you are going to do it this way, DO IT PROPER, with proper awg wires and a relay.

But really... do it the "proper" way

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/tec...ml#post6254094

or below if you have a TRD OR

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...-way-pics.html
Sizing wire for a 12 volt direct current system is different than alternating current. Wire size for 50 amps in an AC system would be a #8 (depending on insulation).

50 amp DC is 16 gauge at 3'.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:35 AM   #5
Red
Large is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2011, #63268
Gender: Male
Posts: 15,325
Large's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by moondeath View Post
Sizing wire for a 12 volt direct current system is different than alternating current. Wire size for 50 amps in an AC system would be a #8 (depending on insulation).

50 amp DC is 16 gauge at 3'.
Do you have a chart? I've been looking for a wire rating chart for DC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:44 AM   #6
MAUL747 [OP] MAUL747 is offline
Member
MAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant future
 
MAUL747's Avatar
Name: Michael
Joined: Aug 2014, #136963
Location: Hartsville, SC
Gender: Dude
Posts: 59
MAUL747's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh View Post
thats a BIG fuse.... 50Amp i think... NO WAY those wires you are using are rated for that, let alone the switch.

If you are going to do it this way, DO IT PROPER, with proper awg wires and a relay.

But really... do it the "proper" way

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/tec...ml#post6254094

or below if you have a TRD OR

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd...-way-pics.html
we all have opinions on what is the "proper" way and like i said this is a option for people that dont want to cut into their factory harness. and its a 30amp fuse and 14ga wire so im sure itll be fine. if not then you can say i told you so while im standing next my to burnt up truck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:46 AM   #7
MAUL747 [OP] MAUL747 is offline
Member
MAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant future
 
MAUL747's Avatar
Name: Michael
Joined: Aug 2014, #136963
Location: Hartsville, SC
Gender: Dude
Posts: 59
MAUL747's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by moondeath View Post
Sizing wire for a 12 volt direct current system is different than alternating current. Wire size for 50 amps in an AC system would be a #8 (depending on insulation).

50 amp DC is 16 gauge at 3'.
If thats right them im in the clear, its 30 amps and 14ga wire. thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:49 AM   #8
Plenty of slaves for my robot colony?
moondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
moondeath's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Jan 2011, #48948
Location: Pa, Carlisle
Age: 34
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,389
moondeath's Tacoma Gallery
Here's the best I could get with my phone. It's a screen shot.


  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 05:03 AM   #9
Red
Large is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2011, #63268
Gender: Male
Posts: 15,325
Large's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by moondeath View Post
Here's the best I could get with my phone. It's a screen shot.


I would say this is a good guide but this might not work with your state's code nor automotive DC circuitry.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 05:18 AM   #10
Plenty of slaves for my robot colony?
moondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shedmoondeath is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
moondeath's Avatar
Name: Chris
Joined: Jan 2011, #48948
Location: Pa, Carlisle
Age: 34
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,389
moondeath's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Large View Post
I would say this is a good guide but this might not work with your state's code nor automotive DC circuitry.
This graph is not for 120/240 residential or commercial industrial 277/480 electrical. As I stated, it's for 12 volt dc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
nd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shednd4spdbh is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Oct 2013, #114055
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,683
nd4spdbh's Tacoma Gallery
thats right on the cusp with 30 amps at 14awg for ~10 ft.

Either way that switch is a radio shack switch, probably cant handle more than an 5 amps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:08 AM   #12
MAUL747 [OP] MAUL747 is offline
Member
MAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant futureMAUL747 has a brilliant future
 
MAUL747's Avatar
Name: Michael
Joined: Aug 2014, #136963
Location: Hartsville, SC
Gender: Dude
Posts: 59
MAUL747's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh View Post
thats right on the cusp with 30 amps at 14awg for ~10 ft.

Either way that switch is a radio shack switch, probably cant handle more than an 5 amps.
Your disapproval has been dually noted. I feel safe doing it the way i did it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question About Lighted Switch for ABS Kill Mod andlours 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 02-07-2015 03:43 PM
ABS Kill Switch 98 Tacoma zk1629 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 05-03-2012 10:35 PM
ABS Kill Switch ? SR5 stormtrooper37 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 02-25-2012 10:58 AM
little wiring help for abs kill switch kinkrider101 Technical Chat 11 11-26-2011 01:22 PM
ABS Kill Switch Q's 1-3-2-4 Technical Chat 1 10-08-2008 12:22 PM


Copyright © 2015 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.