Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

High Mounted Stop Light, Mod?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2007, 11:02 AM   #1
mvega1969 [OP] mvega1969 is offline
Senior Member
mvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud of
 
mvega1969's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3469
Location: Laredo
Age: 45
Gender: Male
Posts: 612
mvega1969's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via MSN to mvega1969
High Mounted Stop Light, Mod?

Does anyone has tried to mod the high mounted stop light to work also as a bed light?

Is it possible? any aftermarket product to do it?

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:50 PM   #2
Unapologetic Texan
sawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to behold
 
sawdust's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2802
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 1,294
sawdust's Tacoma Gallery
I can't help you out, but I'll add a "me too". I've been doing some background thinking on this. Sometime I'd like to visit a junk yard and try to find a gen1 tundra high-mount light and make it fit. I have no idea how big a job it would be to run an extra switched circuit up there. I assume the wires are in the headliner, but I could be wrong. Ideally, I'd want it switched at the left of the steering wheel, but I could live with a switch next to the dome light.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
Bill in Ky is a jewel in the roughBill in Ky is a jewel in the roughBill in Ky is a jewel in the roughBill in Ky is a jewel in the rough
 
Bill in Ky's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3384
Gender: Male
Posts: 247
Bill in Ky's Tacoma Gallery
Sawdust,
I am a junkyard dog, I love roaming around seeing what I can find. What I have noticed lately is that almost all late model 4x4 toyota's (4 runner, tundra, tacoma etc) all use the same switches in the dash (fog light, security etc). I'm sure one of those could be adapted to switch on a bed light.
Good hunting!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:11 PM   #4
mvega1969 [OP] mvega1969 is offline
Senior Member
mvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud of
 
mvega1969's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3469
Location: Laredo
Age: 45
Gender: Male
Posts: 612
mvega1969's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via MSN to mvega1969
It may be easy as some of the additions I have done to our 2004 Sienna, where I have placed the Hitch electrical wiring harness, plus the mirror (auto-dimming) and all proper connections were there. This may me think that the future switch to accomplish this kind of mode is there. But we will know until we open the pandora box (remove that third brake light).

Hope someone else help us on this.

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:11 PM   #5
Unapologetic Texan
sawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to beholdsawdust is a splendid one to behold
 
sawdust's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2802
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 1,294
sawdust's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks, Bill. That's good to know about the switches. If you like roaming the junkyards, how about measuring to see if a gen1 tundra high-mount light would fit on the gen2 tacos? I imagine it'll be spring before I could visit a junkyard.

The other thing on my list of junkyard hunting are more of those cubbies in the bed. I pulled one out the other day, and noticed that there was room to fit 2 or 3 extras in there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 03:20 PM   #6
mvega1969 [OP] mvega1969 is offline
Senior Member
mvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud ofmvega1969 has much to be proud of
 
mvega1969's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3469
Location: Laredo
Age: 45
Gender: Male
Posts: 612
mvega1969's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via MSN to mvega1969
And what about the latest model of Toyota T100, if be possible that their wiring harness distribution is more like to be of a Tacoma (Or it may be to old?)

OK, yesterday at a local Academy store, next to my Tacoma it was a Toyota T100, the third brake light is the exact same one as on the 08' Tacoma, but when I said exact the same it had no white cargo light in it, I do not know if they came out with this option. Does any one know?

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 08:29 AM   #7
Devout Atheist
piercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shedpiercedtiger is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
piercedtiger's Avatar
Name: Jon
Joined: Oct 2007, #3284
Location: B.F.E., NY
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,207
piercedtiger's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to piercedtiger
I gave up on a cargo light for the bed. One company mentioned making one, but it was always "coming next month" and never showed up.

Now that I have a canopy that would block that light anyway I don't bother trying to find one.

I just broke down and bought a set of underbody LED tubes. Wired two under the tie down rails, and put the other two under the truck to see what I'm stepping in/on at night.

Personally, I think they light it up better than any 3rd brake light cargo light.







Shared with Flock - The Social Web Browser
http://flock.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounted my Mag Light loaderman82 2nd Gen. Tacomas 30 12-16-2012 10:46 PM
light mounted in the hood scoop 2011BlackTaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 32 03-01-2012 01:26 PM
Bed mounted light bar? oneBIGroom Lighting 28 10-29-2011 08:46 AM
gas price high, before you stop driving tacoma? linkfeeney Off-Topic Discussion 75 04-17-2011 07:43 PM
Anyone - floor mounted light switch??? tx_shooter 2nd Gen. Tacomas 16 09-19-2010 12:41 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.