Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Dumb question Transmission cooler / AT fluid check 08 Tacoma?

Old 11-23-2007, 12:14 PM   #1
JJK is on a distinguished road
JJK's Tacoma Gallery
Dumb question Transmission cooler / AT fluid check 08 Tacoma?

OK Dumb questions
Go easy on me Im NOT a mechanic (understatement)
I had a transmission cooler added the other day, along with a tow hitch. I wanted to check the transmission fluid level to make sure that the guy at UHaul that installed the hitch and cooler didnt lose too much fluid he says he lost a very small amount about a cup from what was in the hoses.
No big deal, I figured I would just check it when I got home.
I cant find a transmission fluid dipstick!!??
2 questions
How do I check the fluid level? If he lost about a cup is that a big deal?
Does ATF flow through the extra cooler and radiator? Or does coolant from the radiator flow through the transmission?? The new cooler is connected to the radiator but Im not sure if transmission fluid flows through a closed system inside the cooling system or if coolant (anti-freeze) flows to the transmission. Im not sure if he was referring to a small amount of coolant or a small amount of transmission fluid. They are closed or I would just ask him.
Thanks
JJK
Old 11-23-2007, 12:17 PM   #2
Nitro_rc is on a distinguished road

Nitro_rc's Tacoma Gallery
read this:
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/...a/02700210.pdf
Old 11-23-2007, 12:32 PM   #3
JJK's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro_rc View Post
read this:
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyrm/06toypdf/06rmsrc/rm2006ta/02700210.pdf
Wow - another FAST answer - Thanks!!
so if he lost "about a cup" - Would you think I should be OK??
22.4 cups in 5.6 quarts (total transmission capasity) -
Thanks
JJK
Old 11-23-2007, 04:01 PM   #4
Towing Guru