Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Scan Gauge 2 setup? Or problem? or am I complete NOOB, LOL!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2010, 08:03 AM   #1
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Scan Gauge 2 setup? Or problem? or am I complete NOOB, LOL!

Hey-Ya! So, after reading tons of threads on how everyone loves the ScanGauge II and all...I bought one.

Well...seems like I have a problem? I guess, the first question, is anyone using this device on a 2010 Tacoma with the 4.0L (USA California OBDII)?

I have tried every single setting as well as Auto mode on the Scangauge and it never connects to the cars computer? Actually the most I've gotten this device to do is by forcing it to a "CANx" mode it actually trips the Traction Control and ABS lights which then won't go out until I disconnect the scangauge and the re-start the truck.

I guess the question is what settings is everyone using?
Has everyone just been able to plug it in with "Auto" mode and have a connection?

For christ sake is there a failure of my ECU???? Doesn't seem likely?

I checked the firmware on the Scangauge and it is 3.17 so that seems pretty new as per the website. Nothing seems to connect this to the truck. I don't have any check engine lights or any problems what so ever but is it possible the ECU is malfunctioning but still keeping the car drivable and not tripping any lights. Or is it possible I just have a faulty Scangauge? For now I'm going to assume a faulty ScanGauge but thought I'd post and see if anyone has some tips, if any of you had to force a protocol or speed or anything? Oh, and yes I've tried both serial ports on the guage too.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:49 AM   #2
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Janster's Avatar
Name: Jandy
Joined: Mar 2007, #1138
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 47
Gender: Female
Posts: 13,079
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
As far as I remember...it's all plug & play.

Did you follow the instructions in the scangauge manual?

After you plug it into your OBD port - and turn the scangauge on...what exactly happens? Do you have any pictures?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:02 AM   #3
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah, I've tried all the trouble shooting stuff in the manual.
I've talked to Scangauge they say it should work. They are going to send me another unit to try as a return/warranty thing. Also sending me another cable in case it's the cable that is bad.

But yes, I plug the gauge in, turn the truck on, Scangauge starts up and shows "Connecting..." then never changes to anything else.
Eventually it will trip some warning lights on my dash in Auto Mode.
If I try to force a "Mode" it causes the Traction light and ABS lights to come on and stay on until I turn off the truck and remove or set scangauge to defaults. I've tried every combination of "Mode" with no connection and just causing craziness on my dash lights. I guess I have to wait a week for the new scangauge to show up and try again. I hope I didn't fry my computer plugging this thing in!?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
P.S. I don't suppose anyone has the Pin-Out and Color Codes for the OBDII port? I could check and see if my Toyota has crossed wires somewhere?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:11 AM   #5
Junior Member
pyrite_taco is on a distinguished road
Name: Brad
Joined: Aug 2009, #22012
Location: south jersey
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
pyrite_taco's Tacoma Gallery
i have a Scangauge II on my 2010 4.0, worked no probs out of the box. works fine also with the fast setting for communication update rate
i made no other changes to the unit except back light color and adding / config gauges that i want displayed
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:13 AM   #6
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
Have you tried it in another vehicle? That would determine if it was your truck or the scan gauge that's FUBAR.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:32 PM   #7
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98tacoma27 View Post
Have you tried it in another vehicle? That would determine if it was your truck or the scan gauge that's FUBAR.
I wish I could. Don't have a second car. Maybe I'll ask my neighbor tonight after work if I can use his car as a test...
Since someone else here uses it on a 2010 tacoma, I'm not to happy now...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:32 PM   #8
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Janster's Avatar
Name: Jandy
Joined: Mar 2007, #1138
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 47
Gender: Female
Posts: 13,079
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breadbox View Post
Yeah, I've tried all the trouble shooting stuff in the manual.
I've talked to Scangauge they say it should work. They are going to send me another unit to try as a return/warranty thing. Also sending me another cable in case it's the cable that is bad.

But yes, I plug the gauge in, turn the truck on, Scangauge starts up and shows "Connecting..." then never changes to anything else.
Eventually it will trip some warning lights on my dash in Auto Mode.
If I try to force a "Mode" it causes the Traction light and ABS lights to come on and stay on until I turn off the truck and remove or set scangauge to defaults. I've tried every combination of "Mode" with no connection and just causing craziness on my dash lights. I guess I have to wait a week for the new scangauge to show up and try again. I hope I didn't fry my computer plugging this thing in!?
Did you unplug it and then plug it back in? Is it pressed in entirely? Did you make sure the phone jack into the unit is plugged in correctly? Unplug/plug it back in. Check the wires to make sure they're not messed up inside the wires or the chord?

WHich OBD port did you use - the one under the dash?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:36 PM   #9
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Janster, yep. Using the port under the dash by the left foot under the steering wheel.
Scangauge is sending me a unit and a cable just in case what you say is true there is a problem with the cable.

The scangauge does power up and tries to talk with the truck but that's about it...never connects and actually causes warning lights to come on on my dash after a while.

I've tried unplugging, made sure everything is connected tight. I've tired both ports on the scangauge the side one and back one...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:48 PM   #10
Iron Beard
Kyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shedKyouto42 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Kyouto42's Avatar
Name: Jake
Joined: Aug 2008, #8614
Location: Ahwatukee, AZ
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,096
Kyouto42's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Kyouto42 Send a message via MSN to Kyouto42
Just a thought but, did you check to see if any pins on the connector are pushed in?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 07:02 AM   #11
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Kyouto42, I checked my DLC3 port and it looks OK. But when I looked at the cable for the ScanGauge it looks to me like there is no wire in the Pin 1 of the RJ--45 connector...???? Do you have a scangauge, or anyone here can you confirm that there IS suppose to be a wire in that slot on the RJ-45? Or not? Maybe it's just a bad cable either way scangauge said they are sending a unit and a wire but it would be nice to know if one of the pins is suppose to have no wire in it? It's either pin 1 or 8 I'm not sure the direction but the very first pin looking at it doesn't look like there is any copper in there?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:44 AM   #12
Junior Member
pyrite_taco is on a distinguished road
Name: Brad
Joined: Aug 2009, #22012
Location: south jersey
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
pyrite_taco's Tacoma Gallery
I just checked my cable, it has all 8 pins on the RJ-45 plug. I also looked at the spare wire that i ordered, it also has all 8 pins.


EDIT:

another thought have you tried both female ports on the scangauge?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:01 PM   #13
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrite_taco View Post
I just checked my cable, it has all 8 pins on the RJ-45 plug. I also looked at the spare wire that i ordered, it also has all 8 pins.


EDIT:

another thought have you tried both female ports on the scangauge?
THANKS! This is good news.When I get home I'm going to check that cable again with a magnifying glass. From the front of it it sure looks like one of the pins doesn't have a cable -- I think the Brown colored one is missing. I clearly see copper in all pins but one. Hard to see through the plastic so I'll double check later.

Yes, I did try both ports on the scangauge.

Thanks again for the info!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 12:19 PM   #14
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
Not all of the pins may be present. OBD-II uses the ISO 15765-4 format.

Pin-out explanation
http://alflash.com.ua/tools2.htm

FSM DLC PDF. (see last few pages)
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/...6ta/005007.pdf
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:05 AM   #16
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Well, a quick update.

The new scangauge arrived and it still doesn't work. SO I started some investigation on my own and I have found that it seems to be a problem with my 3 week old truck. The CAN bus seems to be shorted out to the B+ line. If there are any Toy-Techs on here, any common failure items I should look at? The Service manual goes a little deep into the circuit testing beyond what I think I can properly follow?

YES, I've already made an appointment at the Dealer for after the Blizzard here on the east cost...LOL...But, I'm just the curious type and would like to probe this further if I can find some assistance. For those techs who might be able to help the symptoms are obviously I cannot communicate with the CAN system as well as I show NO Resistance from pins 6 and 14 to pin 16...or CAN-H and CAN-L are shorted to power "Somewhere?"

Thanks! I'll keep you all posted to what the dealer finds or if I probe it further and find the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:47 AM   #17
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/.../h/em01d21.pdf

CAN system. Keep in mind this is from the 05-06 FSM. It "should" be the same except maybe some different wire colors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:54 AM   #18
Breadbox [OP] Breadbox is offline
Member
Breadbox is on a distinguished road
Name: Matt
Joined: Feb 2010, #31024
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Breadbox's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98tacoma27 View Post
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/.../h/em01d21.pdf

CAN system. Keep in mind this is from the 05-06 FSM. It "should" be the same except maybe some different wire colors.
Yeah, I've been using that on-line manual and all the color codes and locations of the connectors seem to be the same. That's how I got to the point of figuring out that there is a Short in the system. Because the connector for the entire bus is behind the passenger Air-Bag...that's when I stopped tracing the problem and said to myself "Still under warrantee" called to make the appointment. BUT...I don't have much confidence in dealerships I won't go into all my horror stories now so that's kind of why I'd like to trace this out myself too...

Thanks for the Link...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:02 AM   #19
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
You think they would test that system before it left the factory. It's probably the easiest thing to do. I am curious to see what the issue is.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCAN GAUGE VS ULTRA GAUGE WCJR Performance and Tuning 54 03-18-2014 09:45 PM
ultra gauge / scan gauge ??? bizjettech 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 01-20-2011 09:58 PM
Scan gauge.... 01GREENTACO Technical Chat 4 08-30-2009 08:52 AM
Scan Gauge 2 Manwithoutaplan 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 07-21-2009 05:33 PM
What exactly does a Scan Gauge allow you to do. luk8272 Performance and Tuning 11 03-31-2008 09:27 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.