LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

U-Joint Replacement

Old 05-04-2010, 03:58 PM   #1
fixedforbroke is an unknown quantity at this point

fixedforbroke's Tacoma Gallery
Unhappy U-Joint Replacement

Has anyone had their U-Joints replaced and how much was the total repair bill? I'm currently looking at replacing both U-joints and the carrier bearing. Also, I'm at 79,000 miles and consider myself to be an average driver. I feel like these wore out prematurely but, I'll admit I'm not that good with these things so I could be wrong.

Any advice, comments, experiences, stories, jokes or otherwise will be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-04-2010, 04:08 PM   #2
rokjaxon is on a distinguished road
Coast Guard:
Name: John
rokjaxon's Tacoma Gallery
My tacoma is at the dealer now getting the U-joints replaced. I am at app. 55,000 miles and noticed a little vibration while shifting gears about 20 mph. I have an automatic so my symptoms may differ. I just called to get an update and mine is covered under the 60,000 powertrain warranty so I'm good. I am a normal driver also and I believe they did go bad prematurely.
Old 05-05-2010, 05:59 AM   #3

I guess "it just happens" as the saying goes
Old 05-05-2010, 06:20 AM   #4
chozomo is on a distinguished road

Name: Adam
chozomo's Tacoma Gallery
Do you grease them regularly?
Old 05-05-2010, 06:30 AM   #5

Honestly no i never have. I made the false assumption that the dealer would when they did their "127 point inspection". I should of asked I guess.
Old 05-05-2010, 06:46 AM   #6