Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Trans temp gauge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2010, 01:05 PM   #1
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Trans temp gauge

I have no idea whats the reason it works when it wants to. Every now and then it will flicker on and then nothing. I am wondering if the sender has crapped out.

The gauge has been wired from the battery with a relay and an in-line fuse. It also has a ground routed to the body ground near the battery. I have a routed all the wiring away from heat as much as possible and all of the connectors have been sealed from moisture as much as possible. All of the wires have been checked for continuity and all check out.

I'm stumped.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 01:22 PM   #2
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorifuto View Post
Can you add a little more info?

Where did you choose to locate the sending unit (sensor)? What model trans temp gauge did you use? How and where did you mount it? Pics would be nice...
Its an autometer Z trans temp gauge. The sensor/sending unit is mounted in a block of aluminum and clamped to the line. The aluminum acts like heat sink, its off the actual ATF temp by only 5 degrees. The block is still clamped tight to the line.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:33 PM   #3
TACO SUPREME
c0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud ofc0astie31 has much to be proud of
Coast Guard: MK1/E-6
Name: Dennis
Joined: Oct 2009, #24349
Location: Weymouth MA
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 316
c0astie31's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to c0astie31
make sure that you put the circle connector in the right place on the temp probe, you need to have the grounf touching the bottom part of the sensor for it to work correctly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 07:33 PM   #4
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0astie31 View Post
make sure that you put the circle connector in the right place on the temp probe, you need to have the grounf touching the bottom part of the sensor for it to work correctly.
Explain more if you can a picture would help. As far as I have read the only ground is from the gauge to a good ground source according to Autometer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:29 PM   #5
JKD JKD is offline
Senior Member
JKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JKD's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2009, #18207
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,960
JKD's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2.7taco View Post
Explain more if you can a picture would help. As far as I have read the only ground is from the gauge to a good ground source according to Autometer.
Sending units often require a good local ground too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 12:50 PM   #6
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKD View Post
Sending units often require a good local ground too.
That must be it. Is there any way to set up a ground for the sender unit since I don't have a good area for a ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 02:47 PM   #7
JKD JKD is offline
Senior Member
JKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shedJKD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JKD's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2009, #18207
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,960
JKD's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2.7taco View Post
That must be it. Is there any way to set up a ground for the sender unit since I don't have a good area for a ground.
If the sending unit is metal and is clamped in an aluminum block, then ground the aluminum block. It doesn't have to be a big ground wire--small automotive wire will do just fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 06:26 PM   #8
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKD View Post
If the sending unit is metal and is clamped in an aluminum block, then ground the aluminum block. It doesn't have to be a big ground wire--small automotive wire will do just fine.
Well searching around a little has served me good thanks for all the help. I will be adding a ground wire to my setup asap.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 04:29 PM   #9
2.7taco [OP] 2.7taco is offline
Senior Member
2.7taco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Dec 2009, #27316
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
2.7taco's Tacoma Gallery
Set the ground wire up and ran an easy test drive down the road the temp. averaged 180*F. I had it peak at 195*F for a little when I passed someone on the road. It may be time for a cooler.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trans Temp Gauge??? A_Ninja_Racer 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 08-28-2011 02:56 PM
Trans temp gauge install help... TacoinMD Technical Chat 3 04-02-2011 11:36 AM
FS-TRD Boost Gauge, Gauge Pod, and Autometer Trans Temp Gauge novakills Buy / Sell / Trade 2 12-17-2010 12:38 PM
Mech Trans Temp Gauge novakills 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 11-25-2010 12:28 PM
trans temp gauge hook up blacktxsr5 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 06-21-2009 08:03 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.