1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Steering Rack Leak/Rebuild

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Gonzoso, May 4, 2011.

1. May 4, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    Gonzoso

Gonzoso [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Keith
    NE PA
    Vehicle:
    2000 5spd 2.7L 4x4
    Tool box, Bedliner, Not too much yet as I bought it 4/28.
    I have a leak coming from my steering rack, the top where all the fluid lines run into the control valve assembly. It looks bad down there but it really doesn't leak all that much.

I'm fairly mechanically savvy but I've never done one before, has anyone here done the rebuild? I found the rebuild kit here for 30$ shipped.
    http://www.amazon.com/Edelmann-8790...e=Toyota|76&Year=2000|2000&newCar=1&carId=001

And the directions here. It seems pretty straightforward, but is it really a pain in the ass to do? Is it worth rebuilding it? I'd rather not spend all that money on a whole new one if I can just rebuild it. It looks like it requires a press and some specialty tools, is there any way I can jury rig some stuff? If I absolutely have to I know a guy with a shop down the road I can take stuff to use the press.

2. May 12, 2011 at 12:49 AM
    Stout890

Stout890 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Palmdale ca
    Vehicle:
    99 prerunner sr5