1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

questions for the tradespeoples

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by AK27, Jan 27, 2009.

1. Jan 27, 2009 at 4:57 PM
    AK27

AK27 [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    hey everyone, i have a few questions regarding my line of work. i am an apprentice carpenter and love what i do. the company i work for has been very good to me ever since i started however i now feel that i am no longer learning anything from the company and from my coworkers. i know i do not know everything but i just don't seem to be learning from these guys. i personally drive myself to be the best i can be! i make sure i better myself and my work as often as i can. anyways to make a point to my ranting, i have been looking for a new job (current job is doing cottages) but the only jobs i seem to find are for subdivision work. i am considering this line just so i get the experience however the issue i keep noticing is a lot of places are either unionized and hiring only unionized members or non-unionized. i am currently non-union and everyone i talk to tells me to go union. i would like to know what everyone else's experiences have been with a union and without. what would i be looking at if i joined a unionized crew? any feedback/comments/suggestions are highly welcomed!!!:D

sorry for the rant! and heres a pic i have posted before[​IMG]
    this is a place we did a few years ago but the type of work i do everyday

2. Jan 27, 2009 at 5:05 PM
    wildjerseyfirefighter

wildjerseyfirefighter I sell fishing and fishing accessories

Member:
    First Name:
    Joe
    NJ
    Vehicle: