1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Why are body lifts not a good idea?

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by CNEDEER, Nov 5, 2011.

1. Nov 5, 2011 at 6:29 PM
    CNEDEER

CNEDEER [OP] If ya ain't first, your last!

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC TRD OR 4x4
    Alright, so I've been back and forth on what lift kit to purchase. I don't do any offroading, aside from a gravel or dirt road here and there while hunting. I've done some looking around on the forums and everyone seems to hate on the body lifts? I'm not an expert on lifts whatsoever, so I was curious as to what their flaws are? To me, it seems like a good idea, given the price, and the fact that I don't ever go offroad, plus less wear and tear on my suspension and front end compared to a suspension lift (or am I wrong). Anyways, can someone clue me in as to the "cons" of these body lifts?:confused:

2. Nov 5, 2011 at 6:33 PM
    Konaborne

Konaborne Pineapples on pizza Hawaiian does not it make.

Member:
    First Name:
    Cody
    Kealakekua, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    Lifted 00 TRD Off-Road
    fox extended travel remote resivoir coilovers, 14" eibach 600lb coils, All Pro tubular chromoly 1" uniball upper control arms, All Pro expedition leaf packs, 10" bilstein 5150 piggyback reservoir shocks 265/75r16 Goodyear wrangler MT/R kevlars wrapped around 16" Helo 791 gloss black, Mini H1 retrofits with 6000k bulbs, 18" magnaflow w/custom exhaust reroute various decals, Sockmonkey retro hood stripes
    BBody lifts weaken the connection between the body of the truck and the frame by adding spacers, if you get into an accident, this can be a damage multiplier