Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

2.7L engine knock

Old 12-09-2010, 05:59 PM   #1
wgerow is on a distinguished road
wgerow's Tacoma Gallery
2.7L engine knock

When i start my truck in the morning and pull out of the driveway there is an engine knock. it lasts for a few minutes or about a mile or two. If i start it and just let it sit and warm up and then drive off it is minimal or non existant. It is a knock more than a ping. i am not a mechanic but it sounds like what i would consider to be sticky valve lifters, but that is a pure guess as my mechanical knowledge is minimal.

Another annoying problem is the accelerator difficult to push down. you almost have to punch it to get it to engage if you take your foot off of it for more than a 5-10 seconds. It has been a lot worse with the cold weather. seems like the throttle cable is sticky, but again I don't have much knowledge. If you are driving and remove your foot from the accelerator and then engage it makes a real jerky motion when it finally engages. the only way around it is to engage the clutch, punch it, let out the clutch, then you can get a smooth engage out of the accelerator.

Any help/ideas would be appreciated.

2002 2.7 4x4 168K

Thanks
Old 12-09-2010, 07:50 PM   #2
Roll Tide!
travis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtravis9287 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Travis
travis9287's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to travis9287