Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

2.7L 4 cyl differences

Old 11-24-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
SALEENSSC is on a distinguished road

SALEENSSC's Tacoma Gallery
2.7L 4 cyl differences

I own a 02' tacoma access cab 4x4 automatic with the 2.7L 4 cyl motor (78k miles). My question is in regards to the motor itself. If i undertsand correctly this motor is still available in the newer 2nd gen trucks also. What are the major differences between the 2.7 in my 02' tacoma and that of the newer trucks? Is there a difference in HP and Torque? if so how much? are the newer 2.7 motors more fuel effecient? does my 2.7 need to be maintained any differently than the newer 2.7 motors? any info would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the tacomas and would love to learn more about them.

thanks
Old 11-26-2008, 11:32 AM   #2
81shark is a splendid one to behold81shark is a splendid one to behold81shark is a splendid one to behold81shark is a splendid one to behold81shark is a splendid one to behold81shark is a splendid one to behold
81shark's Tacoma Gallery
it's not the same motor. the 05+ tacoma's come with a 2.8L
Old 11-26-2008, 11:38 AM   #3
NAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNAAC3TACO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
NAAC3TACO's Tacoma Gallery
My 2008 has the 2.7. The only difference I know of is the Variable valve timing and the composite valve cover. I'm sure there is more that I am unaware of.
Old 11-26-2008, 11:50 AM   #4
My other ride has sails