Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

Noise after 3" OME Lift kit

Old 02-07-2012, 11:08 PM   #1
dtown is on a distinguished road
dtown's Tacoma Gallery
Cool Noise after 3" OME Lift kit

Yeah,
I read a lot about this before I decided to go with an OME 3" complete lift on my 09' Taco reg cab 4x4. I went with a complete leaf spring kit, 885 coils w/ 3/4" front spacers. I am still running 16" wheels w/ goodyear wrangler duratrac tires. I was really hoping that after having this kit installed professionally, that I would not be a victim of "the noise" that seems to plague 4 banger tacos w/ a lift kit.

So, "the noise." I am not a mechanic, but I am somewhat mechanically inclined. That being said, I've read about a lot of different remedies for this noise, which consists of a vibrating that happens in the driveshaft or diff. when you take your foot off of the gas and you're going faster than about 55. I don't think it happens when I'm in 4wd, so it must be the rear shaft. But then again I never go faster than 50 or so when im in 4, so it's tough to say, but I don't think it happens in 4.

I've read about some remedies which include; Simply flipping the rear driveshaft from end to end (some say it works some claim nonsense), installing the 3 degree axle spacers that OME offers, getting a new 2-piece driveshaft to compensate for the now "whacked out" angles that lifting the truck caused where the shaft meets the diff? I think? At any rate, as I am not a mechanic and only somewhat mechanically inclined, I was really hoping someone on here with a 2nd gen. 4 banger, lifted, would have some answers to this problem, for a grateful tacoworld member I know there are others' who have run into this issue, so hopefully some folks can chime in w/ a little insight!

I hope everyone that reads this has a phenomenal day and an even better night! God Bless you and your family and friends.

Clint

Old 02-07-2012, 11:19 PM   #2
welcome to the incredibuild