Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

Disappointing gas mileage?

Old 10-31-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
paid4c4 is on a distinguished road
paid4c4's Tacoma Gallery
Disappointing gas mileage?

I'm new to Taco's and 4 bangers. I have a 2010 Extended cab 2WD 2.7L auto transmission with 44K miles. The truck had been setting since April of this year until I bought it the first week of October. There was some gas in the tank which was at least 6 months old so I added some fuel cleaner and filled it with fresh gas. My first tank with mixed city/highway driving was 18.6. I just replaced all filters and Mobil One 00/30W and 235 75 15 Geolanders. Maybe the next tank of clean fresh fuel will be better, any suggestions?
Bill
Old 10-31-2012, 08:43 AM   #2
DGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shedDGXR is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Friend
DGXR's Tacoma Gallery
18.6 mpg is not great for a 2TR-FE access cab automatic with 44k miles, but it's not horribly bad either. What are your driving habits? Do you let it warm up for a long time? Idle it a lot?

The old gas is probably not helping. And because it's been sitting so long and you don't know how the previous owner treated it, I suspect the mileage will get a little better over the next few months. Be patient. It's still breaking in, too

Assuming those new tires are larger than the previous ones, they are not going to help your gas mileage.
Old 10-31-2012, 09:01 AM   #3
My pee parts itch