Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

Taco to FJ, or Turbo the Taco?

Old 05-27-2013, 11:30 PM   #1
LEDobsession is on a distinguished road

LEDobsession's Tacoma Gallery
Taco to FJ, or Turbo the Taco?

Hey all,
I'm new to tacomaworld, but not to forums or the tacoma.

I've been looking into selling my white 2000 2.7L auto SR5 ext. cab (access or double?) and thinking about getting an 07 FJ Cruiser. I love my Tacoma, but what I don't love about it is that it's gutless (I live in Northern Utah, in the mountains) and thirsty. I feel that a 4 cylinder tacoma should get better than 3 mpg more than the Sierra Denali that I used to have, but it does not. I average about 15-18 around town (my Denali got 13-16 city).

So my question is, is there some decent mods that can be done without pulling the motor, changing bore & stroke, swapping cams, adding headers, giving RedBull to the Gerbils, etc..? I was aware that there is a TRD supercharger for the V6, but not so sure about one for the 2.7. The Turbo is also another option, but my budget is limited (I'd entertain the idea though). I'm just thinking of how Subaru pumps out the ponies on their STI's and that there should be some way of making the 2.7 Taco feel a little better. I'm sure that some intake work and exhaust will do some work, but probably not what I want after being accustomed to 6 liters worth of power.