Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

new 2014...cruise control question ?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2014, 03:00 AM   #1
Hot2na [OP] Hot2na is offline
Senior Member
Hot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2012, #77905
Location: delaware
Gender: Male
Posts: 269
Hot2na's Tacoma Gallery
new 2014...cruise control question ?

I just picked up a 2014 4cyl 4x4 base model last night....no CRUISE...how can I figure out if it is pre wired for cruise? and how do I install...I already did a search...but I'm wondering if anything has changed for 2014...

BTW: its a regular cab and it has bucket seats & a Console....woo hoo !!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 12:02 PM   #2
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
My 2014 access cab was pre wired...if I can find my installation instructions I can give you the pin numbers that the wires go to (at the ECM) and you could check to see if the wires are already there. I'll try to find them tonight. I had already half way wired my Rostra kit when I realized my truck was pre wired (Rostra support assured me no new Tacomas are pre wired!). Wish I would have known to begin with because I would have at least ordered the original Toyota clutch switch as the Rostra unit is a PITA! Ended up having to do a bunch a wire cutting and soldering to get it in. You shouldn't have to deal with that though since you have an automatic. You could just order the stalk and install it....if it works then you are pre wired
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 04:32 PM   #3
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
Here is probably the easiest place to find the wires if you are pre wired (you can also look under the steering column but requires a little more work):

Locate the ECM by removing the glove box door. There will be a black connector(E22) to the right on the ECM...second from the bottom. Pull out this connector and check to see if there is a wire in pin 14(Brown I believe). If so this is your cruise switch wire. If this wire is in place all else should already be taken care of and the stalk should just be a plug and play kind of thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:59 AM   #4
Hot2na [OP] Hot2na is offline
Senior Member
Hot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2012, #77905
Location: delaware
Gender: Male
Posts: 269
Hot2na's Tacoma Gallery
That really helps,clcartwr....thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 06:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
Winker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shedWinker is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Winker's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Aug 2013, #111437
Location: Kentucky
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,383
Winker's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hot2na View Post
I just picked up a 2014 4cyl 4x4 base model last night....no CRUISE...how can I figure out if it is pre wired for cruise? and how do I install...I already did a search...but I'm wondering if anything has changed for 2014...

BTW: its a regular cab and it has bucket seats & a Console....woo hoo !!!
I thought it was funny when I got my '13 RC 4x4 that cruise wasn't standard but bluetooth was. I didn't pack my brain when I bought mine so I just had the dealer install mine. I'm sure doing it yourself will save a few hundred dollars.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
BKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shedBKill is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
BKill's Avatar
Name: Bill
Joined: Sep 2013, #113325
Location: College Station, TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 214
BKill's Tacoma Gallery
I certainly hope you have the wiring harness. I bought a new 2013 AC Prerunner in September. Part if the deal I negotiated was the installation of cruise control. They were a little miffed when they realized it didn't 't have the needed wiring harness and had to build one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 06:58 AM   #7
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
If you buy the Rostra kit it will come with all the wiring you need if you aren't pre wired.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:22 AM   #8
Hot2na [OP] Hot2na is offline
Senior Member
Hot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2012, #77905
Location: delaware
Gender: Male
Posts: 269
Hot2na's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by clcartwr View Post
If you buy the Rostra kit it will come with all the wiring you need if you aren't pre wired.
Good to know , thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 07:46 AM   #9
Junior Member
Mrnurse is on a distinguished road
Name: Kevin
Joined: Feb 2014, #124135
Location: Friendswood TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Mrnurse's Tacoma Gallery
I thought the new rc only came with bench seats
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 02:05 PM   #10
Hot2na [OP] Hot2na is offline
Senior Member
Hot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2012, #77905
Location: delaware
Gender: Male
Posts: 269
Hot2na's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrnurse View Post
I thought the new rc only came with bench seats
my new R/C came with BUCKETS
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 03:47 PM   #11
Junior Member
wfochris is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #99396
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 27
wfochris's Tacoma Gallery
As I understand it, the auto has buckets while the stick has a bench.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:35 PM   #12
Junior Member
Mrnurse is on a distinguished road
Name: Kevin
Joined: Feb 2014, #124135
Location: Friendswood TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Mrnurse's Tacoma Gallery
Ok. I'm not a huge fan of bench seats. Not that I don't like the fr-s but I am ready to be away from it. Too many issues with this one. And I have really grown fond of this lil pick up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:10 AM   #13
Hot2na [OP] Hot2na is offline
Senior Member
Hot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really niceHot2na is just really nice
Joined: Apr 2012, #77905
Location: delaware
Gender: Male
Posts: 269
Hot2na's Tacoma Gallery
Just a reminder : this thread is about cruise not seats......
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 10:14 AM   #14
Member
navin is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement: Ret.
Joined: Mar 2014, #125744
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
navin's Tacoma Gallery
Hi, I just bought a 2014 base 4x2 reg cab 5spd and want to add CC soon. Is the Rostra kit very easy to install? If it is pre-wired, is it just the stalk that needs to be added to the steering column or is a fitting needed on the throttle body too? I didn't see a pop out in the plastic for a stalk?

Manual trans needs a clutch switch too? What would be the consequence of skipping that, engine would rev if clutch disengaged? But brake would negate that, right?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 11:14 AM   #15
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
If you are pre wired the kit is very straight forward. Remove the air bag and install stalk (there is a stalk bezel you can buy to replace the plastic caps on side of steering wheel). The cruise works through the computer (drive by wire) so no throttle body mods. If you don't install the clutch switch the cruise will have a constant cancel signal since the switch opens to cancel cruise unless you tied the wires together. The Rostra instructions assume you aren't pre wired so you have to pick through them a bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:32 PM   #16
Member
navin is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement: Ret.
Joined: Mar 2014, #125744
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
navin's Tacoma Gallery
Thank you. I guess the full Rostras kit is the way to go, or if I'm prewired I can just buy the stalk and jump the clutch switch wires? Are they right at the pedal arm?

Is there a "how to" detailing the job somewhere on this forum?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:55 PM   #17
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah if you are pre-wired I would suggest buying just the stalk, stalk bezel, and clutch switch from Toyota. The Rostra clutch switch is a PITA and doesn't have the right connector so you have to splice into the stock wiring. I'm guessing the Toyota clutch switch would be a much simpler install. There are two wires with a connector taped up behind the fuse block in front of the clutch pedal arm. I would guess if you went through the trouble of getting under your dash to find these wires you might as well install the switch while you are under there....I have read of guys not installing the switch but I would advise to go ahead and install it.....

If you aren't pre wired the Rostra kit is the way to go because it includes all of the wires and pins you need to tap into the ECU etc.

There are several good right ups on various forums but not exclusively for the 2014 as some of the wires/connections are slightly different from what I can tell (if you aren't pre wired).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 07:25 PM   #18
Senior Member
iroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shediroh is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
iroh's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2011, #65439
Location: michigander
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,213
iroh's Tacoma Gallery
The thread in the 2nd gen section of toyotanation had a lot of good stuff, including instructions for the clutch switch that will be 95% of your install headache. When I put cruise in my 6 speed I remember dropping the panel down, then unbolting the fuse block and rotating it down enough to get my hand back there. You can't get to that area from below, at least not enough to do much.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:31 AM   #19
Junior Member
Mrnurse is on a distinguished road
Name: Kevin
Joined: Feb 2014, #124135
Location: Friendswood TX
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Mrnurse's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, so I think I will be trading my troubled fr-s in for a tacoma r/c 4x4 auto. How do I know if it is prewired for cc? And I can just buy the stalk and brake switch? If it is prewired?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:33 AM   #20
Junior Member
clcartwr is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2014, #122877
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
clcartwr's Tacoma Gallery
See post #3
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control question Aramis 1st Gen. Tacomas 5 11-17-2012 11:55 AM
Cruise Control Question jmwoutdoors1 New Members 9 10-29-2012 07:04 AM
Cruise Control question jrdbrn Technical Chat 3 02-22-2011 10:08 AM
Cruise Control Question mcgiiver 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 10-07-2009 06:37 PM
cruise control question cole47 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 05-22-2009 08:19 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.