Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > 4 Cylinder

Notices

Just bought a Taco, only to probably need a new engine. HELP!

Old 07-22-2014, 02:22 PM   #1
Devonoco is on a distinguished road
Name: Devon
Devonoco's Tacoma Gallery
Just bought a Taco, only to probably need a new engine. HELP!

Hello all. This is my first time posting, but I've been following for quite a while and really appreciate everything you guys do. I just signed up for TW recently after purchasing a taco, and wish my first post bore better news. But, such is life, right? So without further ado, here we go. After saving for quite a long time, I finally purchased what I thought would be my dream truck, a 2000 Tacoma SR5, 2.7L 4 cylinder truck. It has high mileage, 206,000, but the used car dealership had just changed the heads, and replaced all the valves and seals on top of the block. They had the paperwork to prove it too. Everything else on it seemed cherry; clean title, no rust, A/C works great, suspension is great, and the clutch is smooth. It even has a nice topper. My fiancee and I ended up buying it for 6k. I kept it in the garage mostly for about two weeks, occasionally driving it around town, and once on a dirt road when it was raining. Everything was fine. Then came 4th of July weekend, when my fiancee and I had planned to go to the mountains for a backpacking trip. We live in Salt Lake City, and were heading up to the Uintas mountains. I had put maybe 200 miles on it at this point. While heading east on I80 up Parley's Canyon(about a 3-4% grade where I was), I had the truck in fifth gear, going 65 mph, and in cruise control. The rpms were between 2500-3000. I got about six or seven miles in, near Mtn Dell Resevoir, and the truck fell out of gear. I thought that was strange, downshifted to fourth, and continued up the canyon, this time without cruise control. About a minute later, I felt a pretty dramatic loss of power, and had to downshift