1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Unidentified noise on 98 PreRunner

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by luvmy98PreRunner, Feb 4, 2010.

1. Feb 4, 2010 at 11:57 AM
    luvmy98PreRunner

luvmy98PreRunner [OP] New Member

Member:
    Philadelphia
    Vehicle:
    98 PreRunner
    I am the original owner of a 98 PreRunner w/auto and 4cyl engine. I take extremely good care of it as I was a mechanic years ago. A noise became prevelant last winter when the temps began to drop. I tightened the belts(maybe a little more than necessary) but it seemed to work. I think it may have been around the same time the weather began to warm up. Well a year later and it started again. This time I took it directly to my Toyota Dealer who also heard the noise but could not pinpoint where it is from. The noise appears after accelerating to a speed and removing my foot from the gas pedal as the truck is coasting. It sounds similar to a squeak or belt squeal. I also thought it could be a bearing to an under the hood pump, but my dealer said they were fine. On a chance, I lubed my drive shaft and noticed a bearing in the center of the shaft that does not have a lube point. I am thinking this could be the culpret, but I was wondering if anyone else has run into anything similar. My truck has 105,000 miles on it, but like I said, it's my baby and I take exceptionally good care of it.

2. Feb 4, 2010 at 12:49 PM
    98tacoma27

98tacoma27 is going full "SANDWICH" Moderator

Member:
    First Name:
    Ben
    Not Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+295k AND COUNTING), 2006 F350 King Ranch 6.0L
    Some stuff. Not a lot, just some.