Notices

First ever pickup truck - it's a Taco!

Old 12-22-2011, 06:18 PM   #1
KarnaughAtlas is on a distinguished road
Firefighter: Firefighter/Engineer
KarnaughAtlas's Tacoma Gallery
First ever pickup truck - it's a Taco!

Hi everyone,

Just signed the papers to take delivery of my first ever pickup truck. It's just about as basic as you can get and that's what I was looking for. Used 09 5-Lug regular cab with 26k miles. I don't actually have it yet, they're bringing it to me tomorrow.

The first order of business is to get a set of good winter tires. The tires that are on it now are decent all-seasons but I live in Vermont and all-seasons don't cut it. It's also a good excuse to size up from the silly-looking stock size. Can anyone recommend some good, reasonably-priced tires that will get me through a blizzard? I'm a firefighter, so chances are I will have to drive in every single bad storm that we get. I don't do any off-roading (the closest thing would be a trail that leads to my buddy's camp, but my old Honda Element could handle it without too much trouble).

Thanks guys! I've already learned a ton about my new truck just by lurking around these forums.
Old 12-22-2011, 06:24 PM   #2
02sr5trd is just really nice02sr5trd is just really nice02sr5trd is just really nice02sr5trd is just really nice02sr5trd is just really nice

Name: Donnie
02sr5trd's Tacoma Gallery
Welcome to TW.
Old 12-22-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
Joels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to beholdJoels98taco is a splendid one to behold

Name: joel
Joels98taco's Tacoma Gallery
welcome to tw! not sure on snow tires but im sure someone will chime in soon! any plans for mods on your truck?
Old 12-23-2011, 01:08 PM   #4
I don't plan on going nuts with mods, but I'd like to do the Fat Bob's lift kit and some OEM fog lights.