1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Questions about my new system and underpowering speakers

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Suggin, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Dec 5, 2013 at 12:46 PM
    Suggin

Suggin [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    01 trd 3.4l ext cab 4x4
    Hey guys, I have a few questions about my system. So this is my first time changing out a stock audio system in a car with brand new parts, yes noobie here ;). The parts I have alrdy ordered are a set of Alpine type R 100 RMS (coaxial)6x8 for the front two speakers. For the back I have Alpine type S which are 75 W RMS(coaxial 6x8). I ordered a Sound Ordnance M-4075 amp which delivers 75 w rms to 4 channels. I also use an alpine cde 141 head unit.

So, im starting to question my choice of purchasing an amp with only 75 W rms, when i will be installing speakers that have a 100 rms rating. I have read that this can cause my amp to clip the tweeters heating them up and eventually blowing them out ("underpowering" them). Is this true even if I don't crank up my amp at all? In other words, if I just keep my amp at the normal settings (gains ect..) then my amp will not be sending any more power than it would be to my alpine type s's; which is why i bought the amp in the first place due to them being 75 W RMS.