1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sleeping platform design feedback?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Alplily, Jul 20, 2014.

1. Jul 20, 2014 at 5:51 PM
    Alplily

Alplily [OP] New Member

Member:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2003 4x4 6cyl
    Topper
    Hi all... I'm new.

I will be road tripping in September and have been researching sleeping platform designs. I'd sure appreciate your input as I am not a carpenter by trade!

The rough drawing attached shows my own one-person, cot-sized design drawing (I would use a cot, but I can't find a frame short enough. And I'd rather it was strong enough to support some cargo).

It must be sturdy/stable, comfortable, easy and lightweight enough for one person to install and remove, and it would be great if it could store flat in the garage when not in use. The basic plan uses a 72" x 30" footprint, which will fit a comfy roll-up futon cot mattress. The plywood top is supported by rails, one "broken" to all for wheel well clearance. The rails bolt into the top, so I can remove them for storage. I will also add closed cell foam cushioning and a fleece or carpet covering. I need 9" of clearance below for storage bins (factored into design).

1. Any concerns about the design?
    2. Could I make the rails out of 2 x 10 cut-to-length boards instead of building them from 2 x 4s?
    3. What is the thinnest plywood you think I can get away with? I want light weight but don't want to sacrifice strength/stability.

Many thanks!

Tacoma half platform.jpg

2. Jul 21, 2014 at 1:25 PM
    drr

drr Primary Prognosticator

Member:
    First Name:
    Dan