1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Spun Rod Bearing?

Discussion in 'North West' started by lovemytacolots, Dec 6, 2014.

1. Dec 6, 2014 at 1:28 PM
    lovemytacolots

lovemytacolots [OP] Show your Taco some love every day!

Member:
    First Name:
    Jen
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    98 3.4L V6 5vzfe 4wd TRD Off Road
    It starts correctly now, thanks to the best dealer tech ever.
    Hi all, newbie here. I've got a '98 Taco V6 3.4L 5vzfe 4wd TRD Off Road w/195,000 miles. Long story short, I've got engine prob's. Husband and I have been debating heavily this week (problem started last Sunday) about what to do. Tried to convince ourselves to replace her, then realized we'd never be happy w/anything we could afford in her place, cuz we love love love that Taco. So, we've at least decided for sure we will fix her, but then deciding between the following options has been driving us insane, as we know all of nothing about 5vzfe engines, other than that's what's under our Taco's hood and it's not feeling well. Trying to read/research like crazy to educate ourselves, but it ain't easy. Complex stuff to say the least. Anyhooo, options we're considering are -

1) him attempting to rebuild engine himself - least $, biggest PITA
    2) having someone rebuild it and he installs - 2nd least $, but I've read horror stories about warranty prob's when installed by someone other than cert. tech, plus still hefty PITA for husband to pull it/put it back in
    3) having someone rebuild it and they install - most $, least PITA
    4) having someone install a reman - most $, least PITA