Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

CB Radio Install

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2008, 09:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
Jon916996748 is on a distinguished road
 
Jon916996748's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2008, #8337
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Jon916996748's Tacoma Gallery
CB Radio Install

I was wondering if anyone had a CB radio installed in their taco? I've been thinking about installing a new stereo in my truck and since I will be freeing up one DIN, I will use that for a CB radio. My idea then is then to use the rear speakers as the output of my CB. I don't really need the two extra speakers since it's just an access cab and your options of CB's opens up some. Just wondering if anyone has done this or heard of someone doing this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:46 PM   #2
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,219
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
So you wanna put a cb in the din pocket? Would like to see a cb that small.
heres a link of a cb install http://www.toyotanation.com/photos/s...y.php?cat=1154
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 11:35 PM   #3
Junior Member
Jon916996748 is on a distinguished road
 
Jon916996748's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2008, #8337
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Jon916996748's Tacoma Gallery
Not in the pocket, rather in the DIN itself. I'm more concerned with the electrical hookups needed for the rear speakers. Like this FZJ80:

  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 12:12 AM   #4
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,219
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
Ic that looks cool
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:37 AM   #5
Senior Member
MikeS. will become famous soon enough
 
MikeS.'s Avatar
Joined: Jun 2008, #7207
Location: Far Eastern WVa
Posts: 288
MikeS.'s Tacoma Gallery
CBs don't output sound in stereo. Wouldn't you have an ohm mismatch trying to output mono to 2 speakers?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 05:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
Ridgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Name: Frank
Joined: Mar 2008, #5269
Location: San Francisco
Age: 53
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,582
Ridgerunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon916996748 View Post
I was wondering if anyone had a CB radio installed in their taco? I've been thinking about installing a new stereo in my truck and since I will be freeing up one DIN, I will use that for a CB radio. My idea then is then to use the rear speakers as the output of my CB. I don't really need the two extra speakers since it's just an access cab and your options of CB's opens up some. Just wondering if anyone has done this or heard of someone doing this.
I dont think the output circuit in your CB would do well driving heavy-magneted stereo speakers. You could remove them and wire in two properly wound and magneted communications speakers which your local Radioshack should still carry for a nominal price
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 12:04 AM   #7
Junior Member
Jon916996748 is on a distinguished road
 
Jon916996748's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2008, #8337
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Jon916996748's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
I dont think the output circuit in your CB would do well driving heavy-magneted stereo speakers. You could remove them and wire in two properly wound and magneted communications speakers which your local Radioshack should still carry for a nominal price
Yeah I know that would be a problem. I just don't know how the CB outputs its audio. I could build a small amplifier for it, that way my degree gets some use. I'm just not very familiar with the audio out of a CB and its inner workings.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
Ridgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidgerunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Name: Frank
Joined: Mar 2008, #5269
Location: San Francisco
Age: 53
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,582
Ridgerunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon916996748 View Post
Yeah I know that would be a problem. I just don't know how the CB outputs its audio. I could build a small amplifier for it, that way my degree gets some use. I'm just not very familiar with the audio out of a CB and its inner workings.
Should be in the specifications under audio output then you'll see exactly where you're at. It should be around 2-4 watts @4 or 8ohms. Then you check the minimum input on those speakers -if it exeeds (this is where I came in) what your output is, you'll overload the audio circuit over time. I'm asuming those speakers you have are high output types.by the way you could simply connect an amp inline to the external speaker jack-same minimum input rules apply as above>)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cb radio install NraFan 2nd Gen. Tacomas 30 03-05-2013 07:35 PM
cb radio install dfxdig Audio & Video 6 11-24-2011 12:40 PM
what cb radio to install ?? juice 1st Gen. Tacomas 8 06-12-2011 08:39 PM
CB radio install - Your thoughts please? huevo movil 2nd Gen. Tacomas 36 03-05-2010 03:36 PM
My CB Radio Install... 05PreRunner 2nd Gen. Tacomas 11 01-30-2009 10:37 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.