Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

NO DRILLING

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2011, 11:46 AM   #1
ELMOTM [OP] ELMOTM is offline
Junior Member
ELMOTM is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2011, #50674
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
ELMOTM's Tacoma Gallery
NO DRILLING

I have a stock stereo in my Taco with NO Aux plugs or anything. How do I get my MP3 player hooked up to it without drilling holes OR buying a new broadcaster? Are there plugs in the back for this option? It's too bad Toyota didn't put the MP3 jack into my stereo at the factory. When I bought it new, they said it's a $500.00 option. I said: No thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
macgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shedmacgyver is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
macgyver's Avatar
Name: Brad
Joined: Aug 2009, #21173
Location: Canton, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,567
macgyver's Tacoma Gallery
You will probably need to run an FM modulator.

They make two versions:

One that sends an FM signal over the air, the other plugs in between your antennae wire and the radio. The second option tends to have better sound, however is a little more expensive than the first.

Basically you tune your radio to any radio station, 88.5 FM for example, then FM modulator will play the music through that radio station.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:54 AM   #3
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,291
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
There are no plugs on the back of the stereo. You will need something like this http://www.gromaudio.com/store/aux_a...e_adapter.html. It is cheaper than their other AUX adapter because you can't upgrade this one for ipod use.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:55 AM   #4
ELMOTM [OP] ELMOTM is offline
Junior Member
ELMOTM is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2011, #50674
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
ELMOTM's Tacoma Gallery
Broadcaster = FM modulator. And I would rather hard wire it in. So if anyone has any ideas about how to get the Aux working, please let me know. I have already read quite a few posts and not found anything.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:57 AM   #5
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,291
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
That product I posted does not broadcast anything. It uses a direct connection to the CD changer input.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
novataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud of
Joined: Jul 2008, #7953
Location: NOLA
Gender: Male
Posts: 351
novataco's Tacoma Gallery
if you want to hard wire it you have to get an aux adapter. There are many on the market. USA Spec is a brand many tacoma owners have used. THere should be many threads about it on here and toyotanation.com. There is probably a DIY sticky about it.

The aux controller plugs into the aux input in the bakc of the factory stereo, and you access it via the cd button (the cd button will toggle between CD and aux. Its about $60 to $100 depending on the model.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:04 PM   #7
ELMOTM [OP] ELMOTM is offline
Junior Member
ELMOTM is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2011, #50674
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
ELMOTM's Tacoma Gallery
Okay Whip and Nova, I now love you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
novataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud ofnovataco has much to be proud of
Joined: Jul 2008, #7953
Location: NOLA
Gender: Male
Posts: 351
novataco's Tacoma Gallery
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=104019

http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=111143

FYI, the DF-TOY has been discontinued, but they have newer models now, i think with more features...

And whichever model you choose, this is a good place to stash it, next to the shifter under the shifter panel (which simply pops out). That way you can run your aux cord into the center console box, or drill a small hole on the bottom corner of the cubby hold below the climate controls. I ran two cords, one to each place.



One into my console vault, and one into the cubby hole (so I can charge and listen at the same time)







I drilled the hole in the bottom front right corner of the cubby hole so you cannot see the hole unless you stick your head down there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:05 PM   #9
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,291
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMOTM View Post
Okay Whip. I now love you.
Awwww. Thanks. I hope that is no homo love.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:07 PM   #10
First Class White Trash
achirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shedachirdo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
achirdo's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Apr 2010, #34819
Location: North DFW
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,036
achirdo's Tacoma Gallery
the grom audio one is great. i have it. it works right about 97% of the time. (it gets tempermental every month or so but will only last until u restart the truck a couple of times) it is a hard wire to the back of the radio. the only thing i dont like about it is the you have to change the song through the radio unless you jailbreak your ipod
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
Gadvan is on a distinguished road
 
Gadvan's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2010, #41679
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
Gadvan's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by achirdo View Post
the grom audio one is great. i have it. it works right about 97% of the time. (it gets tempermental every month or so but will only last until u restart the truck a couple of times) it is a hard wire to the back of the radio. the only thing i dont like about it is the you have to change the song through the radio unless you jailbreak your ipod
Or downgrade ur iPod cable to the regular headphone jack style. I use to hav e that before for my droidx but now that iPhone I got that cable to play/charge
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
Gadvan is on a distinguished road
 
Gadvan's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2010, #41679
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Gender: Male
Posts: 153
Gadvan's Tacoma Gallery
I can change song on radio or my ipod
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:34 PM   #14
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,291
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
If you want ipod control I suggest the Dice unit. I have the USA unit and it works great but you can choose songs with the Dice unit. I didn't think it did that so I didn't bother to take a look at it since it is more expensive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:37 PM   #15
LRGRNR
Sandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSandman614 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Sandman614's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2010, #45273
Location: Boone, NC\Cary, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,378
Sandman614's Tacoma Gallery
From what I've seen some people say they can't change songs on the radio, I'm wondering if they need to press the disc button 2x.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 04:27 PM   #16
ELMOTM [OP] ELMOTM is offline
Junior Member
ELMOTM is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2011, #50674
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
ELMOTM's Tacoma Gallery
Well, I just bought a new laptop and would like to integrate it right into my truck, since I spend so much of my life in there travelling. Meaning getting it harnessed to my truck stereo or whatevers easier. I doubt I'll drill any holes but you never know. Thanks for all the info here people. Lots of options.

Just seen the power inverter tap thread. I was already thinking of doing that so I can plug in my laptop.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there any enclosures out there that requires no cutting or drilling? chaos316 Audio & Video 22 10-05-2011 11:05 AM
Rust worries when drilling body/frame??? RacerAV 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 06-07-2011 09:02 PM
Off shore drilling.....when?! THExBUSxDRIVER Off-Topic Discussion 40 02-23-2011 02:59 PM
roof rack with no drilling? kinkrider101 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 10-21-2010 10:40 PM
Drilling muffler polkbassin Performance and Tuning 16 01-03-2009 10:33 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.