Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Taco PC v2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 12:16 AM   #1
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
Arrow Taco PC v2.0

Hey everyone,

Project Story (feel free to skip this part :P ):

It all started with the v1 which was nothing else than a Infill G4 PC (double din) that I installed in Dash using a schoshe kit. Install pictures can be found on this page: http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/aud...07-tacoma.html

I was not entirely satisfied with a few things about the computer though: lack of power, no upgrades, some annoying hardware/driver bugs, the not so great quality of the touchscreen ... just to name a few.

I did like the fact it fits a Double Din enclosure very much, and being able to access email/web from my car (using my Blackberry modem) in addition to all of the other things a standard radio/nav system can do really convinced me to keep using a car PC.

About a year ago, I really started looking for a standard Double Din enclosure that would be able to host a Mini-ITX motherboard which can feature decent and low power CPUs (read new generation Intel Atoms!). I didn't find a single case for the simple reason it is just too tight.

Then I realized that our 2nd gen. tacomas have this nice curved front panel with about 1" of free space between the bezel and the front end of a Double DIN A/V unit. This 1" was all I needed to fit a mini-ITX motherboard.

That's what got me into designing and prototyping a custom double din mini-ITX enclosure.

Components:
Motherboard: Zotac NM10AE that features a Dual Core Intel Atom D510 CPU: http://www.zotacusa.com/zotac-nm10-a...therboard.html
Memory: 2GB DDR2
Hard Drive: SSD Intel 30GB
PSU: M3-ATX
Touchscreen: LILLIPUT 8" 869GLT HDMI
Networking: Wifi built-in the Zotac motherboard
Networking: Ethernet connection to a Netgear Access point (installed in the glove box)
Networking: tethering over Blackberry for 3G internet access (connection is shared to the access point so that people in the truck can have access to the internet using wifi)
Audio: Built-in 5.1, only using 4.0 though.
Audio: 4x 40W amp - final design is likely to use an enclosure-less amp to save some space and gain some W
Software: Windows XP SP2
Software: Blackberry Desktop software
Software: Centrafuse 3.5
Navigation: USB Globalsat BU-353

Project details and pictures:
This is my original Infill G4 (that I've sold recently)


Here is the case that I've designed (the front panel isn't attached)


fit check with Motherboard, PSU, SSD, Amp..


Fit check again, different view


Inside the case... (sorry that one is blurry)
]

Amp attached to the inside of the top panel (cheap amp for the purpose of testing the all project)


Metra kit that will be used without the additional provided frames. and painted silver to match the Vent panel below


closed unit with the original black anodize front bezel (I've had it remachined and refinished because I was not satisfied with the anodize quality, now I sand blasted it before anodizing it's much better, pics later)


mock-up with the Metra kit (before paint!) and the unit (with original finish)


and that is the unit with the 8" touchscreen attached to the unit using a articulated arm for custom positioning.


adjustable rail for HU bracket


Front Bezel rev2 (sand blasted + anodized)


Front Bezel Rev2 installed


8" display installed


Side View


Adjusting software...


sorry for the pics quality, it's all Cell Phone pictures and I haven't taken the time to take pictures. But this project has been going for a few months now and as I get close to being finished I figured I'd start preparing this "worklog". I will try and keep it updated.

Don't hesitate to ask any question! I will be adding more pictures and finishing this in the next couple weeks hopefully!

cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 06:38 AM   #2
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,375
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Very cool!

Did you CAD out and CNC the aluminum case yourself? Looks great man.

One question about the amp. Why not use a chip amp kit or one of the Sure amplifier boards from PartsExpress? A naked board would be way easier to fit in the case and would probably cool better too. Do you anticipate any cooling issues with that amp mounted with its heatsinks upside down?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 07:36 AM   #3
Bleh!
Speedway Blue is on a distinguished road
Navy: Airplane Doctor
Name: Mark
Joined: Feb 2007, #876
Location: San Diego, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
Speedway Blue's Tacoma Gallery
Sub'd
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:04 AM   #4
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItalynStylion View Post
Very cool!

Did you CAD out and CNC the aluminum case yourself? Looks great man.

One question about the amp. Why not use a chip amp kit or one of the Sure amplifier boards from PartsExpress? A naked board would be way easier to fit in the case and would probably cool better too. Do you anticipate any cooling issues with that amp mounted with its heatsinks upside down?
Yes. Measuring the curves and actual space available in the taco was not the easiest thing to do. but it turned out working pretty well without any major problem.

I have a couple fans installed to pulled the air out of the case and plan on adding a slim 92mm fan on top for the amp.

This is also the original revision just a proto, I have made several modification in my CAD and will CNC maybe another couple units for a taco friends.

I honestly didn't spend any time looking for an amp but I know for sure I can fit a better one in the same space and I will either need to find one without enclosure or take it out myself!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:17 PM   #5
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,375
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Maybe check out one of these....should be plenty of power

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=320-302
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:14 PM   #6
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
hmm you're making me regret I didn't look into this earlier I am going to look into and order one to update my CAD for the final design. it will fit pretty nicely and I will save some space to even fit a large and quiet fan inside the enclosure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:48 AM   #7
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,375
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Baller, keep us updated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:34 AM   #9
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
I've installed Windows 7, drivers, centrafuse, BDS over the week end. Power consumption is under 20W for the computer/display under centrafuse 3.5.
I've also ordered this 4x100W amp, I'd like to see how much space I could save before I start finishing the wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:28 PM   #10
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
small update:

adjustable rail for HU bracket


Front Bezel rev2 (sand blasted + anodized)


Front Bezel Rev2 installed


8" display installed


Side View


Adjusting software...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 07:01 AM   #11
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,375
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
F'ing knight rider that shit lol!

Just curious but why did you not try and integrate the screen into the dash? I've seen an iPad in there and looks like your screen would fit as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:12 AM   #12
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
the motherboard is too long and I couldn't extend the unit at the back either because of the limited space. I could have installed the monitor directly on the front (protruding) but I liked that it can be moved around for easier use when stopped.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:34 PM   #13
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItalynStylion View Post
Very cool!

Did you CAD out and CNC the aluminum case yourself? Looks great man.

One question about the amp. Why not use a chip amp kit or one of the Sure amplifier boards from PartsExpress? A naked board would be way easier to fit in the case and would probably cool better too. Do you anticipate any cooling issues with that amp mounted with its heatsinks upside down?
you do need to use a relay for in car use though, right?
What type of relay would you use?

My display doesn't have an ignition wire either so it's probably wise to get a relay for that too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:23 PM   #14
Sounds Gooooood
ItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shedItalynStylion is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ItalynStylion's Avatar
Name: Steven
Joined: Jun 2009, #18467
Location: DFW, Tx.
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,375
ItalynStylion's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah I don't think they have an auto sensing power lead so you'd need a relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 09:36 PM   #15
Senior Member
acozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shedacozzens is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
acozzens's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2009, #15791
Location: 98056 , washington state
Age: 37
Gender: Male
Posts: 175
acozzens's Tacoma Gallery
You just got tweeted by me over this project. I thought I took stuff to the next level

Not a project for me, but my hat is off to you my man.
Yeah, consider yourself TWEETED, and I grant you +2 Man Points. I love the project.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:46 PM   #16
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
I received my USB ODB-II scantool today, I'll try to hook this up with the rest of the computer over the week end!
Does anyone where the ODB-II harness is located in a tacoma? I don't remember seeing around the stereo area.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:51 PM   #17
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 97,490
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenm View Post
I received my USB ODB-II scantool today, I'll try to hook this up with the rest of the computer over the week end!
Does anyone where the ODB-II harness is located in a tacoma? I don't remember seeing around the stereo area.
Under the steering wheel, off to the left, and under the dash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:53 PM   #18
stephenm [OP] stephenm is offline
Senior Member
stephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nicestephenm is just really nice
Name: Stephen
Joined: Aug 2007, #2480
Location: Frazier Mtn / Long Beach
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
stephenm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris4x4 View Post
Under the steering wheel, off to the left, and under the dash.
thanks! this helps!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:56 PM   #19
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 97,490
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephenm View Post
thanks! this helps!
Let me know if you need a pic.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
ToyoDrew will become famous soon enoughToyoDrew will become famous soon enough
 
ToyoDrew's Avatar
Air Force:
Joined: Sep 2010, #43262
Location: St. Louis area
Gender: Male
Posts: 167
ToyoDrew's Tacoma Gallery
Kudos to another carPC! I like that you managed to shoehorn it into the dash.

Currently, I use RideRunner as my frontend...mainly because it's free. Ultimately, I ended up buying DashCommand and integrating it into RR so that I could get some good OBDII software. Does Centrafuse have native OBDII support or do you need to buy it separately and then integrate it like the GPS software?

It sure is fun to watch the data on your vehicle in realtime!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STLharry Build v2.0 STLharry 1st Gen. Builds 20 10-04-2012 08:02 PM
Just polished up the Taco with a PC 7424xp (pics) synth505 Detailing 13 08-18-2011 04:33 AM
ASUS WL-500gP V2 rb11701 Buy / Sell / Trade - Other 7 11-05-2010 03:04 AM
Eclipse Map Update v2.3 mit88 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 12-10-2009 12:56 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.