1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help Needed to Build a Budget System Piece by Piece

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by tencrawler, Mar 30, 2011.

1. Mar 30, 2011 at 7:39 PM
    tencrawler

tencrawler [OP] I'm a lover not an expert

Member:
    First Name:
    Wes
    Petaluma
    Vehicle:
    1985 Pickup 4x4 SCLB 22R 5SPD Manual
    Only 55K Original Miles in Spring of 2018
    I am currently running a 2010 JBL head unit, with a GROM Audio iPod and AUX input adapter, with the stock 2007 JBL speakers. I want to start upgrading my stereo system piece by piece and I want to start with speakers. I will eventually swap head units, sub/amp combo, add an amp for the mids and highs, and sound deadening all around. What is my best bet for upgrading all of my door speakers? Can I go with a component setup? Do I need adapters? Suggested vendors? Please keep in mind that the components of my system must build upon each other. For now the speakers will have to run off the measly stock amp. I know it's not ideal, but I'm paying my way through college and my wedding in July, and the budget is tight. All help and guidance is greatly appreciated.

2010 JBL Head Unit (Painted Black)
    [​IMG]

GROM iPod adapter
    2010-10-21%2008.18.41_ea9381f29f5aa053a5f4d6f253a01c688b99596d.jpg

GROM AUX input
    2010-10-21%2008.17.48_91ef8babbce4a1c8ab3e9207de1df8e0edc55a66.jpg

2. Mar 31, 2011 at 6:28 AM
    mattg43

mattg43 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Have a budget in mind?

Willing to buy used?